ESB helmet paint up, be nice I'm new at this !

LB66679

Hunter
First time ever doing layered paint was my fett armor so this whole process is new to me . I'm pretty happy with where I'm at with this so far seeing as the back panels look to be the hardest . I need to go back in with a fine brush and add some more silver in the right rear as I think I masked it wrong on one of the stages . Noting a little more paint can't fix !
image.jpeg
Started here , animefan budget helmet . Best fett helmet I've personally seen and it fits my stupid big head !
image.jpeg

Trimmed , sanded and primed ! Forgot to take a photo of the silver being laid down and it all taped off .

image.jpeg

Silver and base grey down .
image.jpeg

Was as a little too thin with the dark grey so it ran a little , can't tell anymore which is good ! Never used an air brush before so this is all new

image.jpeg

This is is where I'm at now , as stated before there needs to be more silver in the back damage . I think I got a little lost when I did the templates and masking ? I'm happy with it so far and I know it's not perfect but it's my first fett helmet so I think I'm doing ok ?!

Yeah, you're doing okay. Some of the dark grey looks a little over sized to my eye but all in all I think it's coming along. I think most of us start on the back panel although I actually found the red trim and keyslot areas to be just as tough. There's a lot going on in those red sections and you're still looking at four main colours to work with so the same number of layers as the back panels plus they're more difficult to mask off than the back panels. There's also a lot more area than you'd think at first however that said I reckon a nice set of decent back panels are quite heartening to see.

More please.