Spinning Mechanism Help (non-Boba)

Boochman

Active Hunter
Hey everyone!

I wasn't sure where to post such a question, but this is the most knowledgeable collection of costume makers I know, so I figured it couldn't hurt to ask. Does anyone have ANY suggestions on how to make a hat, spin...?

Let me explain: I am part of a team and we are creating a costume for fashion week. It is constructed out of donated/ recycled products from different manufacturers that we work with (I am an Architect, and the team is comprised of Interior Designers & Architects). We display the costume during fashion week at a large fashion show-type event and proceeds go to charity! Anyways, we have a concept that the hat, which is similar to a flapper style pillbox hat but with a larger 3D printed piece on top, will spin. I tried to get creative and use a fidget spinner, connected to a shaft, and use magnets to make it spin. It is proving to be difficult and time consuming.

Any thoughts or suggestions on products I can use to just "flip a switch" and the thing will spin...? Jc27 any servo or wiring thoughts? The first thing I thought of was using a servo, but it's completely out of my wheelhouse...

If you’re not big on electronics the easiest way is probably to get a device called a “servo controller” which is basically a little device with some knobs to let you control a servo (or multiple) with no programming. To make something spin you would need a continuous rotation servo and a servo controller that supports that.

Alternatively you could use a stepper motor (similar to the ones used in 3d printers). That would require a bit of programming though. There are some great tutorials on learn.Adafruit.com

(Sorry for the rushed reply I’m on a plane that’s about to take off. Just let me know if anything isn’t clear and I’ll get back to you in about 7 hours).

This thread is more than 2 years old.

Your message may be considered spam for the following reasons: