Post Imp Mando Scratch build

BrandNewMando

New Hunter
Hi, I just received my raw 3d print of the mandalorian helmet from Galactic Armory. Getting ready to start sanding. I am a complete rookie, this is the first helmet I have made, so any tips, tricks, and tutorials would be greatly appreciated!

I know its suggested I use bondo putty, anyone have any alternatives for that? Would drywall putty work?

Thanks!

Attached is my MandoCreator concept

Attachments

• IMG_8731.jpeg
    IMG_8731.jpeg
    40.9 KB · Views: 86
Update: Just finished sanding the helmet, time for bondo! Also got a coat of paint on my blaster. Is acrylic okay for the details and weathering?

Hi, I just received my raw 3d print of the mandalorian helmet from Galactic Armory. Getting ready to start sanding. I am a complete rookie, this is the first helmet I have made, so any tips, tricks, and tutorials would be greatly appreciated!

I know its suggested I use bondo putty, anyone have any alternatives for that? Would drywall putty work?

Thanks!
Depending on how rough the 3D print is, you may only need to use the Bondo glazing putty to fill in any imperfections. Do not use drywall putty. It will crack and flake off. When using Bondo, do so in a well ventilated area. When applying and sanding a respirator or at least a dust mask.

Got on the grind today! Almost there!
IMG_9088.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_9090.jpeg
    IMG_9090.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 80
  • IMG_9091.jpeg
    IMG_9091.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 83
  • IMG_9092.jpeg
    IMG_9092.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 87
  • IMG_9094.jpeg
    IMG_9094.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 103
  • IMG_9104.jpeg
    IMG_9104.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 106
Awesome job, that looks great! If I may offer an opinion, I think your weathering is too heavy and too regular. You should be able to use some isopropyl and a rag to take some of that back down. Hit the large flat areas and see where that gets you. There's so much right now that it's hiding your awesome paint job!