How can I darken my gauntlets to a darker red?

joe

Active Hunter
Hello everyone...

I'm not very experienced with painting. However, my gauntlet's are a ROTJ red when they need to be a dark SE red. Is there a wash that I can make or purchase that'll allow me to paint over the ROTJ Red and a get a darker red color?

Is it as simple as water and black acrylic paint? I was thinking of trying it, but don't want to ruin the gauntlets since I could always sell them and commission new gauntlet's since they are originally painted by BobaMaker who does great work.

If anyone has tips, advice or a thread they can point me in that covers this topic please let me know since I wasn't able to find much searching on the forum or googling for paint techniques myself.

If youre going with a black wash, i recommend starting with a very diluted wash. Remember you can always darken it more, but not take away.

And another option, you can lightly mist black with an airbrush over them.

Can you post some pictures of the gauntlets? Just curious what we have to work with.

If youre going with a black wash, i recommend starting with a very diluted wash. Remember you can always darken it more, but not take away.

And another option, you can lightly mist black with an airbrush over them.

Can you post some pictures of the gauntlets? Just curious what we have to work with.

Here they are.

They're ROTJ color, but my GML says they need to be darkened to be closer to the CRL visual reference, which is totally cool with me I just don't want to ruin them since I could always sell these and purchase new ones since for ROTJ they look great. I also bought a hacksaw to saw off the hoses on the right gauntlet.

Also I HAVE NO IDEA how to air brush and I'd have to buy one too. I don't even know anyone who airbrushes to help me in person so I don't think that is really an option for me.

left gauntlet.jpg
right gauntlet.jpg