Professional Etiquette

Well this thread has certainly been an interesting read! I will echo what other members have said but I definitely think a lack of communication from prop makers/sellers is problematic. Those that are ordering items are using their hard earned cash, upwards of hundreds to thousands of dollars, in order to buy something they really enjoy - so they are justified in wanting communication in regards to how that money is being implemented towards that end product. This could be as simple as pictures or a text saying everything is on track or even a message stating "hey man, x,y, or z happened so I am running behind on orders but I will get it done."

I make custom orders and always strive to get them done within the deadline, though some builds are more complicated than others. However, 'real' life does and can happen and or our actual job (for example I am a full time occupational therapist and part time athletic trainer - so actual job occasionally requires weekend work which cuts into hobby/prop time) tend to make meeting set deadlines a little difficult. That being said, I try to put myself in both the vendor and buyers shoes which is why I always tend to over communicate (though admittedly I only take on 1 to 2 commissions at a time which makes that way easier).

The whole payment aspect of selling props can get a little tricky. I used take a down payment upfront of half the final cost and then would have the customer send the rest once they had their prop in hand (as I get that it's scary to pay someone with no "guarantee" they will ship it). Unfortunately, I have since changed that and now ask for the second half prior to shipping as I have been burnt a couple of times even with numerous reminders of final payment and messages back saying "I'll get you next paycheck."