Flak vest tackle twill question

dellorama

New Hunter
IMG_7038.jpg I recently attempted to make a flak vest versus buying one. It came out exceptionally well, but i have a question about the material itself. I made it out of tackle twill, however one side is really shiny, and the other side is not so shiny. Which side should i face outwards? I did some preliminary research and thought the shiny side should face out, but the more pictures i see, it seems to be the opposite. What's the general consensus?

I'm no expert, but the ESB images seem to show a shimmer which would suggest the shiny side should be out if going with ESB.

You need to have the shiny side out for the vest and the dull side out for the neck seal or vice versa. Either combo works. Apparently they used both in the movies so the important part to have the neck seal and the vest with the opposite sides facing out.
Personally, I went dull side out on the vest and I'm glad I did. I like the less glossy look.

edit: I should say that I went ESB. I have no idea if it's the same for ROTJ or the Special Editions.

All this dull vs shiny side is 501st nonsense.
The original material was not tackle twill and this is well known.
The material originally used has a sheen to it and has been weathered over the top. Depending on which original suit you are looking to imitate it could be duller or shinier, just weather appropriately. :)

Go shiny side all the way.

The exact original material has not been found.
There may be have been slight variations used for different films,tour suits etc.
Tackle twill resembles the sheen and texture of the original material and is a good choice for those reasons. However it is too thick and stiff to truly look the part.
dellorama, I love that you made your own vest! I'm hoping this side discussion isn't discouraging you.
I just wanted to make sure you didn't feel obligated to adhere to the old and incorrect "shiny vs dull" fabric side debate.