Superjedi's MF-ESB for RPF member Al May

superjedi

Sr Hunter
And so it begins again. . . ;)

DAY 1:

Hi all!
I'm beginning another ESB commission this week. Although I've done many, this is something new from a certain point of view because
it's a make of helmet that I've never worked on before. This is an MF cast sent to me by RPF member Al May. The helmet was sent to
me partially prepped, and in the pic you can see that there's been some putty and primer work done already. I'll be cleaning everything
up so I begin with a "fresh palette."

It's a nice sturdy cast! Al asked me to do this one in the screen-used style.

IMG_3529_zpsgcssmjbi.jpg

The accessories include a gorgeous set of machined aluminum ears, a hollow aluminum RF stalk, a brass Borden replica, a
resin MQ-1 circuit board, a TerminalFettler RF topper, a Honeywell microswitch, and a dark green visor (not pictured).

IMG_3531_zpsl64qiudo.jpg

The next stage will involve a little more clean up to the visor slot, and application of some Bondo putty to some low spots and small divots
in the surface. Then I'll prime it and make sure everything looks good. Much more to come!

This will be a nice one!
Looks like one of the original helmets with the original machined ears from 2007ish. Glad someone decided to do something with it finally.
Just a reminder, on the original the visor is not green and the Borden is not brass. Maybe the owner would want to switch those out?

Hi Keegan.
I'm listing the accessories as the owner provided them to me. Not sure if he'll want to replace anything or not.
The metal ear set is really nice! Nothing looks more like metal than metal. :)

Yeah those metal wars inspired me way back then. That's why Mojo Fett and I worked so hard to top them!

- - - Updated - - -

The clean up is looking good btw. :)

Thanks!