Funkyreds ROTJ and Supertrooper Jet pack decals - WIP

Funkyred

Active Hunter
Preferred Vendor
As my previous posts have stated and you may be aware I have been redrawing and editing my complete decal catalogue on both ESB and ROTJ to make them more screen accurate. And as such I have been creating my own versions of the ROTJ and Supertrooper jetpack decals and thought I would share my results and ask you guys your opinions and thoughts. as well as showimg you my processes and how I got to the point I am atm a Work in progress so to speak in the interests of clarity showing how I am developing my decals to the community.

First of all I must pay due credit to Members such as Rafalfett , Wizard of flight and JBDubz who I have asked to many questions and have kindly replied and given their invaluable input/advice.......Thanks guys.

I work in the graphic design industry and have been very keen on Typography my whole career , I like a nice font lol.
I noticed the markings on the ROTJ looked very similar to Glyphs which are characters that have been used within graphic design and are elimental symbols , intended to represent readable characters etc,
Bottom left.jpg

Bottom right.jpg

Rocket bottom.jpg

I started with the basics , Helvetica was the industry standard font in the 1970/80s and before the birth of desk top publishing Letraset was one of the only tools at hand for a graphic designer.In the images the decals look like they are/were dry transfers, and I read a post here a while back that they came off during shooting and were repainted on.

IMG_20190926_133542_663.jpg

Using Adobe Illustrator I typed in a capital D , E , W , T . U's 2 minus symbols and a couple of Glyphs (One looks like 2 K's joined together) . The more I looked at this glypth tho the more I thought although it looked right it wasn't and the one in the image looked like a capital K back to back ,
Bottom left  zoom.jpg