General New here and overwhelmed! Some general questions for advice:

SigSavage

Hunter
Hi- First of all, I want to say how awesome I think this forum is! I can't believe I have never heard of it before. Well, better late than never.

I came across this site and the 501 club looking for a Boba Fett costume. Everything out there seems like overpriced junk. I wanted something somewhat authentic, but not necessarily a perfect working replica that would cost many thousands of dollars. Looking at some of the amazing stuff here though, I'm starting to reconsider my stance :)

I'm not planning to be an actor, or the local Boba Fett who does parties and events. But I have always wanted a Boba Fett suit, ever since I saw ESB and then ROTJ at the drive- in movie theatre with my dad (to give you a hint of how old I am lol). I am not very artistic to paint things like many of the people here, and I'm not that good at constructing stuff, nor do I have access to the tools or materials to build from scratch. I'm pretty good at building models though, so I was thinking if I could get all the pieces, I could assemble it all together. Depending on prices, I may choose to have some of the bigger parts pre-painted. I would like to over time put together a 501 quality set, with the moving rangefinder on the helmet, and the voice synthesizer, etc. I figure even with that stuff, I could put it together myself, so am not out to purchase a fully functional helmet. I've waited many years to get an awesome Fett suit, so I'm OK to do it slowly over a couple years to defray costs a bit, and to allow some "self building" to occur. I'd really like to have a complete suit finished in a year or 2 though. I don't have a budget per se, but would like to keep it in the realm of maybe $2-3000.

So, with this background in mind, I have some questions on how I should proceed: