Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

  1. #1

    Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    I got a set of the cheap toy Rubies Jango blasters today and I thought some of you mite like to see a review of them. I am pretty happy with them considering the price $7.99 each. I have dissected one and am getting ready to do mods and clean up. It came apart fairly easy. It is I bit flimsy but I expected it. All in all it is a good starting point for a nice Jango blaster..
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster0.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster1.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster2.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster3.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster4.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster5.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster6.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster7.jpg>
    size compare to my full size DL44
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster8.jpg>
    First off you have to take off a little screw to get the battery cover off witch is the gas/power cell.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster10.jpg>
    The tip of this comes off as well. Though it was harder to get off.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster14.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster15.jpg>

    The tip emitter of the barrel also comes off. Vary easily as well as the orange tip.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster9.jpg>

    Now in order to get to the screws there are little plugs to take off. I like this. even though it is a cheap toy they still thought to make it more realistic.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster11.jpg>

    The inside
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster12.jpg>

    All the parts.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/RJangoBlaster13.jpg>


  2. #2

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    Hey man!


    I got news for you! I got the same.

    My friend and I modified the hell out of 'em!

    Seriously. I need to post these suckers real soon.

    I came really frigging close to buying the almost &#36;400.00 replicas.

    But I will tell you . . .You can make them look real cool and eliminate that

    plastic look! My friend did most of the work. He is influnced by H.R. Gieger

    type stuff. We made these blasters overly dirty . . .More than what you would see

    in Attack of the Clones . . .But I like 'em that way. It is amazing what you can do

    with these plastic toys!

    -Jay-

    p.s. I hope ya plan to paint the tips of the Blasters......





  3. #3

    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Milford, Ct
    Posts
    387

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    I have these as well. I haven't gotten around to them yet though. Thanks for the pics. That will help a lot.

  4. #4

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    I rounded off the tip of the emitter to look more like the real thing. I just got rid of the orange tip that was on there before.

    compare to the unaltered tip
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/PVJblastertip3.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/PVJblastertip1.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/PVJblastertip2.jpg>

  5. #5
    askywalker98's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2004
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    1,673

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    Now that looks REALLY NICE MAN! Keep up the good work!

  6. #6

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    Oh cool! Good job on the tips....I wish I could have done that!

    I must say you are on the right track!



  7. #7

    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Milford, Ct
    Posts
    387

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    Looks good. That's my next step. I've taken mine apart. Super easy.

  8. #8
    Admin Staff obi sean kenobi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    United States
    Posts
    1,115

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    i used to have a pair of these and they were an exact match for my MR ones except for the length of the barrel. Add an inch or so to the barrel and theyll be perfect!!!

    sean

  9. #9

    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Milford, Ct
    Posts
    387

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review


    obi sean kenobi wrote:

    Add an inch or so to the barrel and theyll be perfect!!!

    sean
    If I remember correctly, it was an inch and a half.

  10. #10

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    any one can geta a pain and ship oiver for me?? if can ls pm me..thnks

  11. #11

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review

    I have started painting and am almost finished with the first. Still need to paint the silver on the trigger and bottom piece and do the gold detail and then clear coat. The grip came out a little darker than planed but it looks good to me. Also the silver is not as shiny as I would have liked. The paint i used is more of a dull aluminum. Not that accurate but it is all right for now.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/PVJFblasterpaint1.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Jango/PVJFblasterpaint2.jpg>

  12. #12
    ACSS2's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    From
    Kansas
    Posts
    245

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    What colors did you paint them, and with what?

  13. #13

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    I use dupli-color spray paint. T229W silver(M) for the silver and T183W gray(M) for the grip. The gold is just cheap wall-mart brand.

  14. #14
    thunderbolt885
    Guest

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    also, might i suggest DRYBRUSHING grey or black onti the silver to highlight some areas and to weather it. this jango is a very rugged and weathered one after all!

  15. #15
    Michigan Jaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Detroit, MI - The Home of Rock and Roll
    Posts
    445

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    A really good way to shine up that paint is to airbrush it with Future floor polish, then seal it with a clear coat. I have tried this on my helmet and it came out beautifully, it adds a really deep shine without the unneeded glossiness.


  16. #16
    T-Visor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2003
    From
    Moesko Island
    Posts
    379

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    You should fill them with resin and some small nails in order to make the blaster more heavy.

  17. #17

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    Are these availbale still anywhere? I have the smaller ones that I bought in K-Mart for like &#36;11.99. The ones that a barrel lights up orange when fired. I like them except that they are to small.

  18. #18

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    I had a comparison set of pix that show the Kenner next to a screen used resin stunt Westar 34,but,as soon as I posted them,the were deleted fronm the THD site,.......I have a W-34 "stunter' that was broken during filming.
    So if you need the correct sizes to make your holsters for you Master Replicas W-34's,PM me,and I'll give the 'dead on' for the dimension,

  19. #19
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    Hmmm, now that is interesting. I am the mod of this forum and not much gets by me. I don't recall seeing such a picture nor have I removed such a picture. In fact, when we clean up posts, they are not permanently deleted, yet I can find no post from you with such a picture. Perhaps you thought you posted it but did not. You are more than welcome to post the picture here, in this topic, so we may all see it and as the mod of this forum, I guarantee you it will NOT be deleted. I am sure we would all be interested in seeing this screen used stunt Westar you have that was broken during filming.

  20. #20

    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Milford, Ct
    Posts
    387

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    I recall seeing that picture. Can't remember if there was a link to it or just a pic in the thread. I know I saw it though.

  21. #21

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    The one I saw was linked to another site. Oh, and i am almost finished with the first blaster.

  22. #22
    thunderbolt885
    Guest

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    ey jon heres the link to your thread, i posted in it so its easy to find.

    http://tdh.prop-planet.com/viewtopic...=11774&forum=9

  23. #23

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    Ummm... I might be daft (ok ok! So I am daft!) but I can't see any pics here!

    I have just recieved a pair of Rubies blasters I purchased off ebay and would love to remove the plastic "toy" look to use with my custom costume. I've filled the barrels to increase the weight and removed the "made in..." ect. I'm currently torn as whether or not to paint them authentically or paint them as black with weathering around the barrel and the flash dissipator ports. If I paint them black then the inner barrel will be bronze/gold.

  24. #24

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    Haven't been here for a while,but I did post comparison pix of the 'stunter' and the Kenner toy only recently here.They are only 'quickpix' but the difference in size is fairly plain to see.

  25. #25

    Re: Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)

    I did this post before the pic host was taken down. Ill have to re do them when i get the time.

Similar Threads

  1. Rubies Helmet Review
    By journeymanprotector in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 206
    Last Post: Jan 1, 2010, 9:57 PM
  2. Jango blaster pistols by Rubies... good or not?
    By Jango_Pat in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Feb 13, 2008, 4:00 PM
  3. Proper paint for a Rubies?
    By Zarek Vor in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Apr 30, 2007, 11:18 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 8:53 PM
  5. Here we go again, my new MSH2 paint job,(update 30/6/04)
    By mobius in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Jul 4, 2004, 10:38 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •