Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. Member Since
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    238
    Oct 21, 2006, 4:57 PM - Mounting the chest display #1

    I have a TK409 Chest display. I was wondering how you guys mounted it onto the chestplate. (My chest armor is held in place by snaps.)
  2. Boba Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,828
    Oct 21, 2006, 5:11 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #2

    Yeah I have the same question. Have the same from TK409, but haven't attached it yet. I am using magnets and am not sure if I should use superglue to attach the electronics or not.
  3. Buckeye_01's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    669
    Oct 21, 2006, 9:40 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #3

    I used lot's of hot glue. It has worked very well thus far.
  4. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Oct 22, 2006, 1:07 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #4

    Quote DonnieDarko688 said: View Post
    Yeah I have the same question. Have the same from TK409, but haven't attached it yet. I am using magnets and am not sure if I should use superglue to attach the electronics or not.
    Be careful with the magents there ... if they are strong enough, they can destroy the chip over time.

    Quote Buckeye_01 said: View Post
    I used lot's of hot glue. It has worked very well thus far.
    Agreed ... I use the same thing.
  5. Boba Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,828
    Oct 22, 2006, 9:52 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #5

    Quote Jimmy BufFETT said: View Post
    Be careful with the magents there ... if they are strong enough, they can destroy the chip over time.
    I have been thinking about switching to snaps since I am kind of afraid that someone could just pull a piece of my armor off. The magnets aren't extremely stong, but they are strong enough to hold the armor to the vest.
  6. Member Since
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    238
    Oct 22, 2006, 10:42 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #6

    Quote DonnieDarko688 said: View Post
    I have been thinking about switching to snaps since I am kind of afraid that someone could just pull a piece of my armor off. The magnets aren't extremely stong, but they are strong enough to hold the armor to the vest.
    My armor is held on by snaps. If you have experiance with snaps or can get some help from someone, its not hard to do. And the armor is not gonna go anywhere.
  7. jedi808's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    34
    Oct 27, 2006, 5:22 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #7

    This year I'm using snaps and it works great. as far as mounting the LEDs, I figured since no one is gonna see it, I just made a little holster out of a couple of regular ol' playing cards.
  8. mandalore697's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    956
    Oct 27, 2006, 6:44 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #8

    I use snaps on my armour. It's the best thing since sliced bread!

    I followed TK409's idea of mounting them on plastic and not directly to the armour. The female part is also stitched to the vest so if I decide to use a different method or upgrade at any point it is easily removeable.

    As for my chest display...ELECTRICAL TAPE!! And lots of it! It's strong and durable, but it doesn't damage the board, nor is it permanent, which again means if I upgrade my armour - which I plan to do - I can easily remove the board and reinstall it on a new set.

    Dan
  9. Wes is offline Wes
    Oct 27, 2006, 10:07 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #9

    I put 2 strips of velcro (fuzzy) on either side of the slots on the armor, then I cut out an "H" of (hook) velcro. The vertical sides of the "H" attach to the armor velcro and the horizontal bar holds the LED in place. Works great and can be removed at any time. I can post pics if you need me to.
  10. Boba Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,828
    Oct 27, 2006, 10:12 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #10

    Quote Delta75 said: View Post
    I put 2 strips of velcro (fuzzy) on either side of the slots on the armor, then I cut out an "H" of (hook) velcro. The vertical sides of the "H" attach to the armor velcro and the horizontal bar holds the LED in place. Works great and can be removed at any time. I can post pics if you need me to.
    I would like a pic if you have some.
  11. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Oct 27, 2006, 12:20 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #11

    duct tape.

    yup, that's how my leds are installed. big strips of duct tape.
  12. pennywise's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,437
    Oct 28, 2006, 1:37 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #12

    clear silicone
  13. Member Since
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    444
    Oct 28, 2006, 2:14 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #13

    lol, nice. Nothing works better than duct tape
  14. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Oct 28, 2006, 2:26 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #14

    Well, my friend down in Tucson will now have to give me clearance to use this substance: hot glue! But yes, I would use hot glue to secure the chest display to the armor.
  15. Member Since
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    132
    Oct 28, 2006, 2:41 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #15

    I'd go the hot glun method.
  16. Member Since
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    166
    Dec 30, 2013, 5:57 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #16

  17. Bounty1138's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    133
    Jan 9, 2014, 10:49 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #17

    I'm wondering the best way to attach it too. I got my Tk409 electronics in the mail today and there isn't much of it that sits flush with the armour, except for the lights themselves. Do you just use enough hot glue to fill that 1/4 inch (or so) gap between the electronic board and the armour? Do you glue something like wood or plastic to the board and then glue that to armour?
    I'd definitely be interested in seeing some pics of how people did theirs.
  18. formerly TampaFett GRINCH's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    557
    Jan 10, 2014, 5:19 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #18

    If anyone has pics on how they have the chest lights installed that would be great to post them
  19. Bounty1138's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    133
    Jan 10, 2014, 2:48 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #19

    For what it's worth, I'm attaching my armor by magnets and I'm not worried about the electronics. It was discussed in this thread and nobody seemed to have any issues: http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f25/c...-method-48099/
  20. locitus's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    745
    Jan 10, 2014, 4:54 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #20

    Pieces of cardboard as spacers to get the display level with the curvature of the armour, and hot glue for fixating it all.
  21. Member Since
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    617
    Jan 11, 2014, 3:48 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #21

    Duct tape! Works like a charm. I use a Fettronics display, which is a flat electronic display. Any gap between the armor and the display is not noticeable at all.
  22. Bounty1138's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    133
    Jan 16, 2014, 1:03 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #22

    I used masking tape to rough mine in, just to see how it looks (which is super great, by the way. It really takes the costume up a notch) and if any unexpected issues might arise. I soon realized that I need to make a hole in my vest to run the battery cords through. It's not a big deal, but it wasn't something I had considered before, so I wanted to mention it.
  23. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    724
    Jan 16, 2014, 1:08 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #23

    Quote Bounty1138 said: View Post
    I soon realized that I need to make a hole in my vest to run the battery cords through. It's not a big deal, but it wasn't something I had considered before, so I wanted to mention it.
    I know most just do this and then put the battery pack in the side pouch, but I've been considering making a little pocket in the inside of the vest.

    Btw, nice to see a local boy around you planning on joining the Outer Rim Squad? I don't think they have an ESB Fett yet. I think I'll be the 2nd or 3rd ROTJ boba when I'm done.
  24. Bounty1138's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    133
    Jan 16, 2014, 9:13 PM - Re: Mounting the chest display #24

    Quote DeathProof said: View Post
    Btw, nice to see a local boy around you planning on joining the Outer Rim Squad? I don't think they have an ESB Fett yet. I think I'll be the 2nd or 3rd ROTJ boba when I'm done.
    I haven't really thought too much about the 501st. I didn't think I'd be anywhere close to accurate enough, but in my humble opinion, it's turning out better than I thought (and I'm spending more than I originally planned). Funny how that happens. I'm not done yet, but I think parts of my build could pass muster, but others would need upgrades. I'd definitely be interesting in chatting when I get this build done and seeing where I am and how much farther I'd have to go.
  25. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    724
    Jan 17, 2014, 12:40 AM - Re: Mounting the chest display #25

    Start a thread man. Let's see where you're at!

Similar Threads

  1. TK 409 Chest Display help please.
    By TK 4130 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Apr 16, 2009, 2:06 PM
  2. chest display
    By stormshadow2100 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jan 10, 2009, 9:04 PM
  3. Advice wanted for chest display to BM chest armor
    By Flettch in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Aug 24, 2008, 1:33 PM
  4. Chest Display
    By MediaGuyPJ in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Mar 14, 2006, 3:27 PM
  5. My Chest Display
    By DarthBish in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Dec 29, 2004, 6:14 PM