WIP- PP2 - NEWBIE

markyt1

New Hunter
How’s everyone doing?

As I have been inspired by many of you to make my own helmet instead of buying one I thought I would start a thread and show how things are coming on. I’m lucky enough to have a couple of helmets (thanks to mmgraphics and fettprop). I’m starting out with a PP2 to see how I get on as I have never done anything like this before and it seems helmet is no where near as intricate as the ESB one. I'll tackle an ESB one later on down the line with the other lid.

I’m going for the layered paint job and I have gave the whole helmet a spray of aluminum silver

I did use brushes to put on the masking fluid however found that the brush became pretty clogged up (how do you avoid this?). I carried on using it as it gave some good shapes when applying damage to larger areas. I also used a needle to mask off some of the smaller scratches and a chop stick that I shaped at the end to assist in applying the masking fluid.

Air brushes, what is the best? the compressed air tins or am i better investing in a small compressor? (the cheeper the better) tried getting one on e-bay but the buggers keep outbidding me

Any suggestions etc greatly appreciated.

WIP BOBA FETT 003.jpg

WIP BOBA FETT 004.jpg

WIP BOBA FETT 005.jpg

WIP BOBA FETT 006.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Compressed air cans, are very inconsistent and run out fast, you will be better off investing in a compressor. I have a badger whirlwind, and it is constant air so it doesnt need to fill a tank. It isnt that loud either, and the air is very consistent. However, look around in hobby shops and see what they have, ask around as well.

I personally own two airbrushes, one for detailed car work, and one for general painting applications.

My Badger Renegade Velocity Dual action airbrush can get a hair line spray (meaning the smallest spray is as thin as hair. I have that only for complex artwork on cars, canvas, motorcycle helmets, etc.