ESB helmet, worth buying?

Taz

New Hunter
Hello,

I've been dreaming of building my own Boba kit since I was a little kid but never got around to actually start the build.

Recently, I came across someone who's willing to sell me his bucket for a fair price ($300), apparently it's a Bobamaker helmet and the seller doesn't remember the artist who did the paint job.

Frame 1.png
Frame 2.png
Frame 3.png

Since this would be the starting point of my very first kit, I thought I'd ask you guys what you think of this helmet.

Is it worth buying? Does the paint job looks accurate to you (I'm kinda worried about the spots on the dome but again, I'm no expert)? Will it be hard to find matching paint for the rest of the armor?

Thanks in advance

Taz

AH! Dodged a bullet here, I'm glad I posted on the forum before buying. $300 for a painted one was a surprisingly good price, especially since shipping to France was included. Thanks a lot, friends.

Just out of curiosity, what were the main issues on this one?

I'm fine with paying a bit more for a better helmet, do you have any recommendations? I'm primarily looking for an assembled / painted one.

Thank you again!

The main things that jumped out to me when looking at that helmet were these things:
Bottom rear of helmet is wrong colour - should be dark green not blue
The cheeks should be black
Ear detail is very sloppy
Weird spots on top of dome
There would be more but those are the things that stood out for me
The stencils from Raf show a little better than words. Boba Fett ESB Helmet Stencils

Compare that helmet to one painted by someone like bobamaker, superjedi, DVH etc and the difference is massive. See picture for example of beautiful helmet paint up by a TDH painter (pretty sure this was superjedi).

I personally would recommend one of the following from my own experiences and is not a comprehensive list. I know there are many more awesome painters on TDH but these are ones where I have seen their work in hand.