Armorer Build Work in Progress

cp60520

New Hunter
I'm about halfway through a casual Armorer costume build and I thought I'd share my progress.

This costume is meant to be a casual build for my wife for convention wear, but I still want to make things as "right" as I can.

I started with the armor pattern from SionnachStudios and knocked it out from EVA foam. I'm still new to EVA foam, but I think it turned out alright. I made a few alterations based on the reference photos that Art Andrews posted here. Then I Plastidipped it.
IMG_7310.JPEG
IMG_7364.JPEG

After some painting, brush and spray, and weathering with black and brown washes, it's starting to look okay!
IMG_7384.JPEG

Here you can also see the muslin mockup of the "apron" and the first draft of the gloves I patterned based on my wife's fireplace gloves.
IMG_7386.JPEG

I'm not totally satisfied with the fit and the weave on the shoulder guards. I'll probably rebuild those.
So far, I've finished constructing the apron, the helmet, and the top of the jumpsuit. More on those elements as I go.

I still have the belt, pants, and boots/leg-wrap thing to go!

I built the helmet following a pattern from Armorer Props on Etsy, which was a good start. Constructed it out of EVA foam, plastidipped it.
The back of the pattern is not 100%: there should be a small lip around the lower part of the back of the helmet. I also adjusted the "vents" to make them angular instead of scallops and some ears to make it look more like the pics I've seen. Otherwise, though, this was a pretty easy to follow build.
IMG_7453.JPEG
IMG_7456.JPEG

Then we painted it gold with some brown/black washes. The six-year-old apprentice LOVES washing stuff to weather it. He finds it hilarious!
I hoped to make it look "schmutzy" enough to match the effect of the screen version, and parts of it are. I think I could go back and blob some paint or make it rougher all around, but overall, I think it's good enough for our purposes.