new to Airbrushing advice needed

mandalorian01

Active Hunter
I have been a member on the boards for sometime and i have a couple of projects that ive been working on for quite sometime including a ANH stormtrooper and a ROTJ Fett. it has come time for me to paint the helmet but i have never air brushed before and im not sure how to go about it? i have looked a a few air brush kits at hobby lobby but i dont know what is a good brand and what isnt. My question is what is a good setup to learn how to airbrush? my helmet is a annimefan CC and its been prepped for a while but i am for lack of a better term "scared" to dive in head first on the whole air brush thing. any advice on which gun to buy/ compressors v.s. compressed air cans, would be appreciated. thanks!

I started learning to airbrush with an iwata hp cs and a sprint jet compressor. It's all personal preference, I wanted something that was gravity fed and also good quality.

go with air compressor stay away from cans. you only get limited time of air to use. where with a compressor you can paint for hours and not run out of air coz you will need to practice a good bit before you want to tackle a fett helmet.

I started on a tamiya hobbie airbrush kit, it's a diaphragm compressor with a trigger style airbrush (gravity feed). That I now use as a portable or weathering brush. It's also perfect for covering larger areas.
i also have a iwata gravity feed which is great, a cheap generic one which is okay (can't remember name) and then a fine detailing brush that is just awesome but cost me the earth.
i would suggest getting a mid range to cheap, if your nervousness about it. But if you feel you may like it and get lots more use aim a bit higher iwata have a great range for all levels. You will also get a finer spray than you would from a tamiya, the trade of with tamiya is they are great to learn on as they are easier to use and clean up is a breeze.