Complete Beginner Seeking First Helmet Advice

Mongoose193

New Hunter
Hello!

I have been a huge fan of The Dented Helmet for years now, and have finally decided to give putting together a complete costume together. I wanted to know if you guys had any suggestions about where to start for a first helmet. I have no idea how to weld, so I figured constructing my own would be challenging at best, and I wanted to give painting a try before I purchased an expensive well put together kit.

I wanted to go somewhere along these lines: Boba Fett Don Post Helmet Customization Guide??Some time ago (2004), I stumbled upon The Dented Helmet, the definitive source for*Star Wars prop collecting and customization.?*?I eventually began some dialogue*with a member of the 501st Legion who re

Taking an inexpensive helmet and attempting to apply my own paint job to make it look better. Also, to see where I am at with painting skill and all that.

So I have two questions:

1) Is this even a smart idea to go along with, or am I going about starting this process completely wrong? If I'm going about this the complete wrong way, is there anything you would suggest me do?

2) What helmet would you suggest I start with? I would like to spend under $100

I have searched the forums, but I didn't find anything that answered these questions, so any and all suggestions are welcome. Even if they are "Kid, you're insane. Turn back now before you make a fool of yourself."

Thanks guys, hope to hear from you soon.

Scott

Hey Scott, ASOK offers a Budget kit with everything you need if you want to get a more accurate helmet kit. It is possible to do that way too with the Don Post helmets. The Don Posts just aren't as durable and are usually warped. These kits won't have that problem and it will be a good 501st helmet if you're going for approval.

Heres a link below.

http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f31/asoks-jango-boba-helmet-run-going-now-47776/