ROTJ SE Scratch Build WIP - Advice Welcome

mcfarlj3

Jr Hunter
Greetings everyone! I've been working on my first Boba Fett for about two months now. This forum has been an incredible tool for my build so I decided to post my progress and hopefully give and get advice.

For now my deadline is Halloween, but my end goal is to join the 501st, not to mention have a great Boba Fett to display.

I started with the armor to get a little experience working with the materials before attempting the helmet and more complex pieces. I used the WOF templates.
IMG_0001.jpg

Here are the pieces cut out of 3mm sintra. A local sign store was kind enough to give me scrap sintra for free.
IMG_0002.jpg

I shaped the sintra using a heat gun. Here are a few amor pieces on a duct tape mannequin I made.
IMG_0003.jpg

IMG_0009.jpg

IMG_0010.jpg

IMG_0011.jpg

IMG_0012.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Here are a few pictures of the knees. I used the WOF templates. I still need to work on the knee darts, but here's what I have so far.
IMG_0004.jpg

Before and after some sanding.
IMG_0005.jpg

IMG_0006.jpgIMG_0007.jpgIMG_0008.jpg

- - - Updated - - -

Again, I used the WOF templates for the side pouches.
IMG_0014.jpgIMG_0015.jpg

IMG_0004.jpg

IMG_0005.jpg

IMG_0006.jpg

IMG_0007.jpg

IMG_0008.jpg

IMG_0014.jpg

IMG_0015.jpg

Im using an old pair of coveralls as my flight suit until I can get my hands on a screen accurate/501st approved suit.
IMG_0013.jpg

After many rounds of bleach I was able to achieve a decent color.
IMG_0046.jpg

IMG_0013.jpg

IMG_0046.jpg

I also decided to scratch build the girth belt out of clothes line and yarn (for the weaving). Although the results aren't too bad, I'll probably just end up buying a real girth belt in the long run.
IMG_0039.JPG

I initially dyed the belt with tea and I'll eventually paint/dye it red.
IMG_0043.jpg

IMG_0039.JPG

IMG_0043.jpg

I used the tutorial on here to make my flak vest. It seems like a good fit. What are your thoughts?