Where to start?

Deke

New Hunter
Hi all, total noob to costuming, but heading to my first con later this year and wanting to do a fett. I'm in no way skilled enough to paint my own armor up, so looking for info or suggestions on the best places to get decent quality starter gear.

I've seen the rubies (which seem to have an awful reputation) and a few makers selling on ebay, but unsure of quality.

Any feedback greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome! I would start with the armor first. RKD and Bobamaker on here make great armor. I can also hook you up with a affordable paint job. I think there is a getting started thread in the sarlaac pit with great info. Welcome to the madness!

Hey there,

I'm in the middle of putting together my first Fett, so I welcome you on this kick *** journey :)

What I would recommend is that you do as many who start do..at the beginning. Research, research, research. There are many threads on here for how to start out, although I have had issues from time to time navigating this site for specifics.

A Boba Fett will put you anywhere between $2000-$5000 depending on how much you want to spend. http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f22/new-tdh-read-about-how-much-you-will-spend-17421/

I've seen threads from people that craft their own, but my advice would be to find reputable sellers from here to get your gear. If you're not into painting, there are many artists on here that can be commissioned for work, but again, that all depends on how much you are willing to spend. There is a thread on all the distributors here ...good thing I bookmarked it :) http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f20/new-member-questions-needing-direction-rotj-build-39282/

If you're going to order materials, order sooner rather than later as many artists take time to produce such quality work.