Newbie Boba Bucket

dechels

Jr Hunter
I'm a newbie at all this and taking my 1st stab at painting (other than walls my wife makes me paint) an ESB bucket. I got this off ebay for $20 a few months back and have been researching Raf's Template's and different rattlecan colors. This may take me a bit as I travel a fair bit for work, but with all your help, tips and continued support, I'm sure it'll turn out to be something I'm proud of. Without further ado...

Here's what I'm starting with... I think it's a DP96. When I did some sanding on it, there is some putty over the lettering on the back and the "plastic" is green under all the primer.

IMG_0335.JPGIMG_0336.JPGIMG_0337.JPGIMG_0338.JPG

As you can see, someone already cut out the visor and it was very rough! I cleaned it up with the dremel and some sandpaper.
The primer coat looks abit dark to me for the base metal color on Raf's templates so I sanded this re-primed and shot a coat of Rustoleum Stainless Steel Enamel. I used this on my goalie helmet, so I know it sticks well!

IMG_0445.JPG

It's kind of a dull metallic finish and not the bright silver I will use later. Any thoughts on this as a base color? I plan to use the liquid frigett that Dynamic recommended for liquid mask. I'm thinking I pick up some carbon paper for stenciling tomorrow morning, lay the mask and throw on a coat of bright aluminum. Any thoughts are welcome and appreciated.
I'm thinking the order of paint will be 1. Stainless Steel 2. Bright Metallic Aluminum 3. Concrete (Rustoleum Granite) 4. Reffer Grey (Rustoleum Dark Grey)
Then I'll move around the helmet for the different colors. Thanks for the help!

Of to a good start, not a bad shape for a DonPost, , just a warning though those green vynil helmets have a tendancy react when painted with enamels,
Though some times it doesnt seem to happen, (I personally have never done one )but ive seen people on here mention the paint stays tacky,
but you may be lucky and not have this problem ,