Boushh New Boushh costume WIP - Finished helmet pics added

Clothears

New Hunter
I have been trooping as Boushh since 2006 and my research on the costume has never stopped, I don't think a day has passed in my house without Boushh being mentioned. A while back my Boushh costume was used in the Simon Pegg film ‘Paul’ so I decided it was time to retire it and start work on a new upgraded costume (my original has now been boxed away). Since making my last costume I have obviously found out a lot more about the screen used costume and saw the original in London, this time I will be going all out on accuracy and though, maybe not as practical, I will still try to make allowances for comfort where I can.
Firstly I worked on the tunic, I sourced a new pig skin with more texture and made the pattern more accurate. The front is self faced and the overall fit is much better.
Next came the under tunic. There is quite a bit of difference between this under tunic and my last one. This time the body of the tunic is made from a caramel brown sateen cotton which is overlocked at the hem and the suede collar is top stitched to the cotton. The tunic now has a brown zip up the back and the sleeve ends are lined with leather. The sleeves are still long enough to gather, have the tree spikes and the thumb slots. Above the wrist there are the opening slots in the seam, these are held closed with large stitching and a fastener. The sleeves are also now lined with black satin.
The cummerbund was the next piece I made. It is piped suede and then unlike my last cummerbund it is lined with suede, this makes it a little more expensive to make but finishes it off nicely. At the back the cummerbund laces with black cotton tape and has a wrap over cover to hide the lacing. At the top of the cover a hole has been cut into the suede. I have yet to discover why but I have put it there for accuracy.