Is this a GENUINE Sgt Fang?

Can anyone tell me if this looks to be a real SGT FANG or a recast or not genuine at all? Thanks!

2-sgt-fang-boba-helmets-1-modd-jango-dscf1126.jpg2-sgt-fang-boba-helmets-1-modd-jango-dscf1128.jpg

It looks like it to me. I am not an expert but I do have a Sgt Fang sitting in my closet. But it was already painted when I got it, the key slots look like his though.

They are a slush cast resin. If it hit me at the right time I would say it would be worth it for under a hundred.

it certainly looks legit. the seam line on the back just took me back to my first helmet.

Yeah, definitely a Sarge bucket. I've owned/worked on 2 of them and the seam on the back is a giveaway.
Good price for one of these, too.

I know these require some work to fix the back gash, etc. But are they a complete pain to work with, or is it just minor cosmetics? From what I can see in the photos, this cast looks pretty clean.

On mine, it took me a Saturday afternoon to do the filler and sanding, and another evening to cut the key slots and visor. Not labor intensive at all. I do wish I'd taken the time to reinforce the inside with fiberglass. The resin used on the SgtFang + the age of the helmet just seems slightly brittle compared to say, Asok's cold cast resin bucket, which seems bulletproof by comparison.

Anyway, you can't beat that price, and it's a great bucket to experiment on, adding more scratches/cuts to the surface before painting.

If you want to make it a lot more accurate, it'll take one full week of work. If you just want to clean the seam line and cut the keyholes/visor, in a few hours it should be done.

This thread is more than 12 years old.

Your message may be considered spam for the following reasons:

1. This thread hasn't been active in some time. A new post in this thread might not contribute constructively to this discussion after so long.
If you wish to reply despite these issues, check the box below before replying.