Materials and other advice for making helmet?

Hey, everyone!

New girl at the forum, and thought I'd ask you "veterans" for some help. I want to make the she-Fett costume and I'm planning to build the helmet using WOF's templates, but I have one small problem... I've never done anything like this before! I'm so ashamed...

So I'm wondering if you have any advice when it comes to materials, first of all. Like I said, I've never done anything like this, so I thought I'd try to make the helmet out of cardboard. But if I do, how thick/thin would it need to be? I have some cardboard here, but it's about 3mm. Would that be too thick? Or is it some other material that's just as easy (or easier) to make the helmet out of? I only have the basic tools, not very much money, and would prefer not to make my first helmet out of metal or anything scary like that...

Also, I'm wondering about the process after the building of the helmet. I see people using fiberglass and resin to strengthen the helmet. How would that be done? The fiberglass I've found at my local stores looks like some sort of paper. Is that the correct one? And what is that resin? (English is not my mother-tongue, so all of these words are kind of lost to me... Although I'm sure we have all of it here in Norway. I just don't know what to call it.)

I apologize for random questions, but I really want to make this helmet! And I want it to look good! So... Every advice is much appreciated! :love

// xxDreamWalker

Welcome to TDH!