Boba Fett's granddaughter- Mirta Gev

RachelSpektor

New Hunter
Hey everyone! I am new here, though I've been lurking for a while. lol. I've dabbled in costuming in the past (mainly Slave Leia) I have been wanting for a long time to have some sort of female mandalorian armor. I thought for a while about doing a female version of boba fett, but now I'm thinking of doing a Mirta Gev costume.

These are the pictures I am basing my costume off, primarily:
Mandalorian_wedding.jpg , MirtaGevUnfinished.jpg

I did a sketch today of the costume, with a lot of details in my head. Excuse the sucky drawing.
gifsmaller.jpg

ARMOR
This is my first time actually making mando armor, so I expect it to be bad. But oh well. I have two plans of attack right now and I am going to see which one works better.

While looking around the interwebs, I found this tutorial. I bought some 1/8th inch Sintra plastic, but haven't gotten around to testing out the molding process. The problem is, I don't have a cast of myself or a good mannequin to mold it to. Has anyone every tried molding it to themselves? With the help of someone else. Am I retarded and going to burn myself? lol. Anyway, I was going to try that out and see how it goes.

My second plan is a simpler one, but I might not be able to get what I want out of it. Somewhere on this forum, someone suggested taking mannequins like these:
IMG_1069.jpg
And cutting the armor out of them like so. I have ordered a couple of these, because they were pretty cheap. They will probably get in next week and I'll try these out too. Has anyone actually done this before? What did you use to cut the plastic? Also, how did they turn out?

I know that there is a guy out there (Rotton) that makes female mando armor, but for one thing I'm not sure if he is making them at the moment. And for another, I kind of want to make the whole thing from scratch just so I'll have more pride in it.

HELMET