First Scratchbuild, Seeking Answers and Advice

Jango987

New Hunter
Hello everyone, I just want to start by saying that I'm very new to the world of helmet building, and all forums in general. So bare with me while I get the hang of this. (Also, I apologize if this is posted in the wrong place or if I haven't done enough browsing. )

So I have a few questions about supplies, as I'm on a pretty limited budget. I've seen some members have built their buckets using a thick cardboard used for framing. Does anyone know if a place such as wal mart would sell something like this? There are no hobby shops where I live, so I'm sort of limited when it comes to certain supplies as well. Also, would something like card stock or the cardboard used to make cereal boxes be strong enough? And could I use drywall mud instead of bondo on the cardboard/card stock build? Which one is cheaper, and easier to work with?

Thanks in avance, any help is greatly appreciated. :)

you can get the frame board at micheal's craft store it's like 6 bucks a sheet you need 3 to be safe. i did that too, but once i cut the visor out it cracked on the bondo line so i'm going to walmart to get a big out door trash can. believe it or not lol. you can use either bondo or spackle but spackle tends to crack. bondo is better. they cost about the same. don't forget super glue i say you get 4 of those double packs at walmart they are 1.97 each. get the gel not the liquid. but yes you can use whatever you can get your hands on to make it. just watch the strengh. Hope that helps you out a little. you did download wizards templates right?
-Jaycen