How do I even start

sevor

New Hunter
Hi everyone... I am new to both the tread and the world of costuming. In fact this is my first post. My question is with all of the techniques and materials to use how does one start. I am wanting to make a clone trooper build and am a huge star wars fan. I am determined to get it done no matter how long. I am just very excited to learn how. I just dont know where to begin. Any help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hello sevor, welcome aboard.

The best advice is "Use the Search Button, Luke..." :p Type 'clone armor' or something similar and you will find a lot of post about clone armor building.

Beware, finish a clone armor is not an easy task... nor cheap, you will spend more than $1000.

You can see many tutorials on www.clonetroopers.net and www.clone-empire.com I learn it from there ;)

If you want to start buying something go to the nearest DIY store and buy:
a heat gun, smooth sandpaper, a Dremel (or any other spinning-cutting tool from your favourite brand) a gas mask (yes, gas mask, not dust mask) and ... some body filler like Bondo if you're in the States or Isopon if you're in UK.

After reading all posts about armor I'm sure you'll know who makes what and you can PM them and start ordering some things.

Oh, forget buying from recasters like the known StarFortressProductions or other scum that usually use e-bay to sell things. Do not buy anything if you're not sure who's the original maker of that piece. Recasters might have props that seems good for the price they ask, but please, understand that supporting rescasters means support the end of creativity.

Regards,
Santiago.

Hi Sevor,
All good info from Santiago. Also, take a look at this thread
http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=17421

I can add to the purchasing plan. Do make sure you get references for the person or business you plan to buy from. You can search just about anything here and find your answer.