Vader Sculpt

lostdude

New Hunter
I thought I would share some of my other work with you here beginning with what started it all. Back in May (2008) my interest sparked in costuming and I wanted to make a vader costume. I decided to sculpt my own mask to try and cut costs and have a greater sense of pride in my work.

The first attempt was in drywall which I quit once I went back to school and had no place to work.
vaderhead001.jpg

Here is the story of the new sculpt after around 15lbs of clay. This is my first time working with clay and or sculpting and I have learned a lot along the way.

Vader2nd1.jpg

Istset004.jpg

2ndset002.jpg

next001.jpg

topright001.jpg

Here are the most recent pictures today.
rightfill001.jpg

rightfill002.jpg

I'm doing the sculpt in sections to try and keep the sculpt from becoming lopsided and its been working fairly well. I believe I need to add a little more height to the forhead and add the top ring and then begin on the left side. I may have to order more clay soon as well so we'll see how long this will go.

I also have a Master Chief costume I'm working on and my Boba Fett but being at school I do my projects in the order I can in my dorm room. The Boba Fett is in the bondo and fiberglass stage and the Master Chief is on hold until the vader sculpt is done or I run out of clay.

Enjoy friends and Cheers!

Great start so far man, sculpting is really hard, so keep at it!

I'm also loving the pep masterchief gear started over there, working on it myself!

Hey nice work! A thing, I've been wondering about alog time is the following: Isn't the helmet a bit too heavy if made with clay? Looks really massive!

anyway, really nicely done! :)