Official Airbrush Thread

• Thread starter Migrate from As You Wish
  • Start date
M

Migrate from As You Wish

I have been wanting to get an airbrush for some time, but i don't know anything about them. Whats the difference between dual action and single? what should i look for in an airbrush? any recommendations?

Well, for starters, single action is easier to use for beginners. Usually an external mix, single action sprays the paint when the button is pushed. dual action is usually an internal mix, and allows air flow when the button is pushed, then paint as it is pulled back. After getting the feel for it, the dual action will give finer detail and better control.

Last edited by a moderator:
I hear good things about the Aztek A470. Can't say I've used it, but it is both double action and internal mix. Plus, it is pretty cheap for everything you get- lots of nozzles for fine detail.

But I am no expert on airbrushes--looking into one myself.

Does anyone or has anyone used an airbrush to paint their armor? Would it be ideal for the weathering? I am considering getting one and I would love to hera what you think. Is it worth it?

Thanks

Most definitely!!!! :)

I used regular spray paint for the "base coat" (Rust-O-Leum "Spruce Green" is great). Then I sponged on Testors enamel (Yellow Zinc Chromate for the "primer" color and Steel for the "metal" color). After that, I used acrylic Mars Black, airbrushed on for carbon scoring effects and to give it that all-around "grunge" look. ;)

I have since used my airbrush for my Blastech EE-3, my Westar... it is VERY useful and adds a dimension you really can't get any other way. :)

My $.02... :D

From what I hear it's down right necessary to really nail things with the mixing of greens to get a "proper" green.

Steve