ESB vs ROTJ Helmet

• Thread starter Migrate from As You Wish
  • Start date
M

Migrate from As You Wish

Hey folkies-

As the title said, how do I know which is an ESB and which is a RoTJ? I'm getting slowly geared up to do an ESB suit, and the helm is the first piece I'm planning on getting done.

Tips and info would be greatly appreciated!

Tony

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey,
I'm just getting into this myself, but here's what little I know.
And please correct me if I'm wrong.

ESB: more pronounced flare at the bottom of the helmet
lighter color, more of a aquablue?
yellow bars on side of helmet

ROTJ:less or no flare at bottom of the helmet
more green I think
red bars on side of the helmet

I'm sure there are more differences, and some I've listed may
not be entirely correct, but someone has to get the ball rolling.

Hope I've helped,

Phil
TD128
Neon City Garrison
http://www.ezshots.com/members/mereel/

I think the increased flare on the ESB is due to the fact that it may be slightly larger than the ROTJ. There is a scene in ROTJ where Fett is on the Skiff and you see his helmet against the blue sky, and you can see that the helmet definitely has the bell shape, although less pronounced.

The smaller flare may also be due to poor molding. If you look at the simplistic (not in a pejorative sense) paint job of the ROTJ helmet in comparison to the highly detailed paint job of the ESB helmet, you kind of get the feeling they had to rush the production of the Fett suit/helmet, since most of the ESB suit was lost/stolen.