I finally have a decent bucket!

So, As it says above, I finally got a sgt Fang(at least that's what I'm told it is) My previous expirience with a Helmet is my DP95. It was a great price. All the parts are here(although the stalk seems to angle in). I'll have to take pics. It seems ready to paint. The seller got a MR so he sold of this. Things I like already? IT DOESN'T SMELL. My frikin DP95 STILL stinks to this day! It's bigger. And the visor fits quite well.

Looking forward to using the ESB templates. But the funny thing is, I'm an acomplished Model builder. I'm pretty good with an airbrush but for some bizzarre reason, I'm intimidated by painting this! I've seen lots of helmets here that have been painted by people with NO painting skills whatsoever and they've come out with some **** fine helmets.

Last edited by a moderator:
I had painted quite a few Fett helmets before I started the ESB helmet I just finished. I was scared as all heck to get to it. Once I got going it went much better then I expecetd.

BEFORE I found TDH, my DP95 was painted. After looking a others' helmets, I stripped it down and ordered a better visor for it. I also got a DP96 I was going to paint as Jango's but since I could'nt get the visor in the way I wanted my 95 has sat. The 96 has been stripped and sanded.

I just wanted to screw the visor in place and that was a bit trickey since the lip along the visor edge is a bit thick and trying to sand and trim down that vynil is a pain in the thrusters. Never got around to trimming out the visor on the 96.

I was hoping to start this one by using the screw method in the visor installation thread to get the visor ready but removable. Then primer off this thing and using the templates start at the 'bottom' and work my way up so to speak. Shoot the 'base metal color" mask the template areas with windsor newton liquid mask, then shoot the chrome and so on. I was justy a little unsure which one is the "bottom" base metal or chrome?