Zam bodysuit assembly

SeattleZam

Jr Hunter
Hello Zammers and TDH peeps!

After collecting parts and enthusiasm, I am officially launching the Zam in Seattle project. (And a major thanks to MonCal for the cool parts, awesome work, and JD Fett and others for parts and advice. You all rock.)

I'm starting with the bodysuit, so I'll know the clearances I have on the gauntlets and straps and other parts.

I have 20+ years of costuming sewing experience, although this is my first time with neoprene or more accurately, the Stretchhouse fabric, which isn't a true neoprene. I was studying the pics on the ref disk (thanks!) and I have a theory that might explain the saddle in the middle of the pants.

Theory: Those saddle "seams" are just two decorative lines sewn into the pants. They aren't separate pieces, just extra lines of seaming put on top of the existing pants.

Might also be the case with the second line - instead of a welt, those outside double seams may just be a regular singular seam with a decorative second one on the outside.

Now I'm ducking, because if it looks right, y'all are going to hate me because you did all that amazing work putting a saddle into the pants. I'll try it, take pictures of it, and post it, and you can tell me what you think.

Also, I have a second controversial theory that the crop top was shortened to prevent the neoprene from rubbing over the chest, and a black shirt-like fabric was attached to it that tucks into her pants (that also has the hose connections on it). That's lighter for heat and weight as well. Your opinion?

And I'm using a Green Pepper racing suit pattern as a starting point, which I'll mod to put the seams in the right places.

Hey, let the debate begin, I want to hear what you think. I may have some sewing experience, but I'm new to this fabric and to the Zam effort, and many of you have already suffered/worked on this. (And whoa, what a lot of work this costume is!!)

Deunan Shiruba
Jedi Knight gone Bounty Hunter