help the noob

r2d2

New Hunter
lo lo. yeah im a noob. i just joined up yesterday. i have always wanted to make my own cool full working boba fett gear.
i took some templates from a guy using them for a cardboard helmet but i ended sticking the templates to some 20 gauge sheet metal to make it outta metal not cardboard. i figure they will work the same.
i got some clear vinal from hobby lobby and some window tinting from auto zone.
i have a good idea for the flame thrower on the armband and it looks like it is gonna work beautifuly.
i can set up the radio in the helm so i can walkie talkie to friends, plug in my ipod and keep my bluetooth for phone calls.
im thinking of making the the tint lowlight ( soo i can see better in the dark).
if ne one reads this and has ne pointers or files or ne thing please help the noob r2d2 build boba's armor.
thnx to all
r2d2

hey bud, welcome to the boards, great to have you here!! well, first of all, have you figured out how heavy this helm will be once you put all the metal to it? you may want to consider the weight before deciding to do a metal one...(y) also, the templates in the armor section are fantastic if you are going to be doing your own armor...this sounds weird, but there is a trashcan armor thread showing how to use the templates with trashcan, and it is awesome!! just keep asking questions, and someone will be able to help!! let us know!(y)

Metal helm sounds awesome. And it looks like you've got a lot planned.

One request, Take lots of pictures :) .

Plus welcome to the boards etc.

-Tom

but i ended sticking the templates to some 20 gauge sheet metal to make it outta metal not cardboard. i figure they will work the same.
I'm looking forward to seeing what you can pull off with the metal! I have some aircraft aluminum I plan on making my armor out of, but even with some metalworking experience, I'm not quite brave enough to tackle the helmet just yet. :)