Paint Progress ESB/ROTJ:SE Layered

never ending fett

Active Hunter
Yet another paint progress thread for a Sgt. Fang helmet. I don't get a whole lot of time to work on it. So updates may come slow and spuratic. I'm going for a ROTJ:SE costume so this will be a ESB helmet, or my best attempt at it. I'm doing it primarily layered, and doing touch ups topically when it's all finished.

Comments, criticisms, and tips are welcomed and encouraged. This is my first time really using an airbrush and it's the most in depth paint project I've tackled, followed by my armor.

I've started out after preping, and priming the helmet by painting the whole thing with testors aluminum (rattle can). Then I used a combination of stencils and free hand drawn on the scratches that will remain aluminum. Then painted on masking fluid inside the drawn on areas.

IMG_1839.jpg

IMG_1842.jpg

IMG_1843.jpg

IMG_1844.jpg

after masking off what would remain aluminum over the whole helmet, I painted the whole thing with Reefer Gray (all paints except the aluminum and the Panzer Olive Green are Floquil and PollyScale from the RS list)

After peeling off the the masking fluid I start drawing on the areas to be masked to leave both the aluminum and reefer grey exposed, starting with the dome and cheeks

IMG_1845.jpg

IMG_1846.jpg

IMG_1849.jpg

IMG_1850.jpg

Layered can be very difficult to get it right, takes a lot of time and patience. But, the end results can be awesome. I really like what I see so far, I am going to watch this thread till the end

Very nice! Why not just leave on the first layer of liquid mask until you have put on the final layer?