Steps on painting your helmet

HERO

Hunter
Hello I was wondering alittle,and thought.When I get my helmet,how am I going to know where to start painting?So I thought,what a great question for the forum!So with that being said,how do you paint your helmet?Can someone explain the steps or what materials are needed.Like whats primer?Stuff like that.So if anyone out there can help just PM me or just talk to me here.

Thanks!

HERO

I just started painting today. I already finished sanding and priming (automotive sandable primer - Walmart) and laid down my first coat of "Aluminum" colored paint.

If you are using the layered method like I am then you have to start with the base coat and work your way to the top, masking off colors that you want to show through to the end.

Color question:
What is the correct ear piece color for an ROTJ helmet? Is it a crome or more of a bronze color? (I hope it isn't green)

Hero,
Don't know how much painting experience you have, but if you're asking questions like "what's primer?", it leads me to believe that your experience is pretty limited.
I would highly recommend searching for "tutorial" threads here on the forum to see how a lot of us have painted our armor and helmets.
The 2 basic methods are layered, and topical.
Layered means that you actually paint the helmet/armor in layers. Eg: put down a base coat of silver, then mask off the parts you want to remain silver, then paint gray (for the gray areas around the silver scratches), mask off again, and lay down a coat of green. When you remove the masks, you have a genuine "layered" effect.
Topical means working basically the opposite way. Your base coat would be green, and then you would add the other colors on top of that.