The Obsession Begins Anew

Bubba Fett

Well-Known Hunter
Hi, newbie here! First let me say, I love this site and the people have been great - very helpful. I have really learned a lot so far.

Last year my 8 year old son wanted to be Star Wars character for Halloween. So, I bought the costume pieces for a dark Anakin. Little did I know that it would ignite a costuming spark that had been dormant in my life for the last 25 years. So, I spent the last year building my own Vader costume because my wife (thankfully) would not let me buy a Rubies Supreme costume. She is kicking herself now, with over a thousand spent and I am still not done. Anyway, my son and I decided to work together (he mostly watches and complains about the paint smell) to put together a couple of Boba Fett costumes. The idea is to get his done (and learn something in the process) by Halloween. Then I have another full year to build mine.

I started with a white '95 DP helmet. I know it's not the best, but I needed something smaller than a regular bucket and wanted the slightly harder plastic and better shape. Even so, it still looks a little big on him (oh well, he'll grow into it :) )

The first thing I did was to fix the flare issue (not sure if I did it too much). I used some thin copper tubing which I cemented into the back, and then ran it around to the mandibles, as they had a tendency to keep bending back into the helmet. I fixed most of the surface problems using bondo and glazing putty. Cutting out the back vents has been hard (this plastic does not file well) and I still need to do more clean up there.

Bought all the paints and just put on my first color of Rustoleum Sage Green (hard to tell with these pics). I will probably use foam for the inside as I need to get the helmet up a bit on his head so he can see out. Anyway, I will keep posting for comments and helpful hints as the costume progresses (not sure the best place to post it).