Battle Damage.

Hi Folks,

I am about to start my ROTJ Helmet and i was looking through all the great work that most of you do to your Buckets and i was wondering , is there such a thing as a template to work from that shows where the Damaged area's go one the ROTJ lid as this is my first time i don't want to mess it up too badly.

I have all the colours that i need i just would like to know from you more experienced people out there if such a thing exsists :confused if it does could some one point me n the correct direction please.

I am in awe of some of the great and fantastic looking lids out there sohence my question as i would like to get my bucket looking as good as i can with in the limits of my painting skills , lol .

Thanks in Advance of any replies.

Ian
Homer-Fett

Hi Ian,
What I did with my ESB was to "scale" the reference pics I used to the actual size of the helmet.
I would measure a certain portion of the helmet, say the keyslot section on the back. Then on my computer,
I would enlarge or shrink the picture to that size. (Yes, I would actually hold a ruler up to the monitor. :) )

What I did then was use tracing paper, hold it against the computer screen, and draw the outlines of the scratches and damage.
Once I did that, I laid the paper on my desk, turned it over, and re-drew my lines on the back side.
Then, holding the paper (right-side out) against the helmet, I rubbed the pencil lines on using the back of a paintbrush. . . kinda like carbon paper.

It's not an exact science, due to transferring a 2-d image onto a 3-d helmet, but taking small sections at a time I got pretty darn close. (y)

Hope that's useful! And understandable. :)
Eric