gmb13286

New Hunter
I am new to this and was wondering if fiberglass vs sintra. which is better? And has any every hear of star fortress productions? If so any postive feedback? any negative. i found them over the internet and their product looks very good but like i said i am new. someone please help me i am trying to get a suit ready for dragon-con have all but armor, that all i am lacking.

A lot of people use fiberglass and a lot use sintra. Kinda depends on how much money you want to spend. You probably won't find a lot of positive comments on Star fortress. Just search the name and take a look. You can pretty much find everything you need from good prop makers here.

Oh, Jeez... Don't even think of buying from SFP!

Do a search for him over at the RPF and you'll see why... On a side note, are you going to build a screen accurate Fett outfit? Fiberglass is strong but time consuming, and Sintra has its trials and errors as well; AFettFullOfDollars has a great tutorial posted on how to make armor out of plastic trash bins from Walmart for less than $20...

star fortress sucks but as for the armor fiberglass armor from bobamaker or mlc is accurate but if you have a lowbudget go with sintra because you just print off templates and bend the armor pieces to your shape. also you can make it as accurate as you want it.

I'm using sintra for my armor, and it is like a divine holy material to me. It is easy to work with. Just trace the armor template onto the sintra, cut out with a hobby knife, dip in boiling water, then bend it to your hearts desire. When your done, put it in some cold water. And I only paid about $25 for a 4x8' sheet of it. It's split in half for me and a friend, but still, 4x4' is still more than enough for all the armor. Fiberglass would be great if you can afford it, though. Has a great curve to it you can't achieve with sintra.