First attempt at a ESB Boba Fett helmet

godaking

Hunter
Hi everyone :D

I'm pretty new to Boba Fett costuming. Just wanted to show off some pics of my friends helmet I'm working on just to see if I'm on the right track. So far, I've spent 1 1/2 weeks off and on on this.

I plan on using what tricks I've learned with his on my helmet (as soon as I get it in the mail). Scratches aren't accurate, but I've been trying to copy the Steve the Swede tuturial (which is hella difficult).

I did a ANH Stormtrooper, but Boba's helluva lot more work...

Check 'em out:

Here's how the helmet looked when we got it.

bob3.gif

bob2.gif

Here's how they looked back on Thursday
bob1.gif
bobafett1.gif

Here's how it looks right now
bo1.gif

Still a LONG way to go, but hopefully I'm on the right track.

-Joe

Thanks for all the kind comments everyone! I can't wait to work on my own bucket. I'm not too sure which type this helmet is, but my friend bought it from Ebay.

Oh yeah, here's another angle from it:

bo2.gif

-Joe

Looks great! What do you plan to do with this helmet when you are finish painting it? Also, it's one of the many recasted Mystery Helmets.

Looks great! What do you plan to do with this helmet when you are finish painting it?

Gonna give it back to my friend. :lol:

My helmet is coming in the mail soon. I got it off Ebay and was advertised as proportions closer to the ESB style of helmet. Hopefully he's right.

Also, just wondering: has anyone ever tried using toothpast to mask silver areas on the helmet? I plan on using silver as a base and then using toothpaste to mask the areas.

Thanks for the kind comments everyone.

-Joe

No personal experience with tooth paste as a masking fluid, but I have read about people using mustard. You may want to try both and post your results with some pix. Good work on that bucket, btw. 8) What kind of paints are you using?