Too scared to start

Ronin677

Well-Known Hunter
Hi all

i have been putting it off and putting it off, and the plain truth of the matter is i am too scared to start the silicone moulding of my scratch built bucket :facepalm

I have the silicone, the hardner, the 'thixo thingy' and the release agent. All i need to do is cover the bucket in silicone and hope all goes well. The thing i have never done his before and i am worried in case it all goes pear shaped. and this is before i attempt the fibreglassing :facepalm

someone kick me :p

BAD1E19C-0353-A876-10861DE5DE21C25A.jpg

BAD59EF4-FF06-4BF3-DDDF17B6A9AD7233.jpg

I would, but I'm 'bout in the same boat you are in. I'm looking at everything everyone else has done, and looking at the blank armor and helmets they sell, and I'm thinking, "I'm supposed to paint THAT to look like THAT?!" And I haven't started anything yet...

You're attempting fiberglass? You're braver than I am. Good luck.

Wow, another awesome scratchbuild, that thing looks sweet, I cant offer any advice other than maybe cast it in resin, it may be easier for a first timer?? like I said not sure as Ive never done either, but Im sure someone here will chime in.

By the way I havent forgotten abou your neck seal:)

Paul

Jon,
Just mold and cast a copy of the helmet first.
That way, in case something goes wrong with the mold, you'll have the copy! Oh. . . wait-- :lol:

Is there anything you can practice with?
Some kind of small item you could make a copy of?

Jon,

Trust me it really isn't all that bad! The silicone is so flexible that pulling it off is easy. Are you thinking of going for a one piece mold? A one piece is probably the best way of doing it. Here is what I would suggest:

1. Layer the silicone qute thinly all over the helmet using the thickening agent and allow to cure.

2. Add a second coat of silicone to thicken the mold. I would probably recommend making your mold 15-20mm thick.