Cold cast question

I with or without the pigment base? The place I got the stuff from said to use pigment but I think there full of it becase it dosnt look right to me? But I have never done this before. :lol:

If your cold casting ALU specifically, the BEST thing to use is clear layup resin. Not to be confused with clear CASTING resin used for embedding flies in ice cubes ;)

Clear gel coat is good too. But it more "picky" becasue of all of the filler that is already in gel coat. Gel coat of any color, is mixed with cabosil or other fillers to "thicken it". When you put your Alu powder into it, there is twice the filler, or MORE depending on how much your using. All this does is ultimately make your mixture more brittle when cured. Not to mention, that you have more instances of catalization error with all of this filler, leading to wrinkling, and a plethroa of other hassles that could take a lot of time and material to experiment with. Take it from me, been there, done that. That's why my Jango Gaunt project has taken so long :lol:

Used clear layup resin. Not amber. "CLEAR". It will be the most brilliant when you buff your casted piece. Any other color, or "pigment" just reduces the potential brilliance of your final piece.