E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

  1. #1
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Hi there,

    i had a stupid little idea, and itīs all TK1961s (user at RPF) fault.

    He showed his nice build of a E-11 pistol: My E-11A1 Blaster Pistol - and made me feel a need for having my own one.

    So i went in my shop and found some parts, basically a nice DH-17 kit that i purchased a short time ago from Odiwan. Really a excellent kit made by Bowjunkie, but a little bit to much plastic parts for my personal preferences. That kit and some other parts from the partbox brought me to this:

    The grip and trigger rearranged some cm to the back, and the mag on the front underside, still without any scope




    Or with a scope? I could offer a M38:




    Or a Singlepoint:




    Or a real one, donīt remember what:




    A pic from the business-end:




    And a closeup of the nozzle




    Still a lot of details to think about, build it? If yes, what version? Or resell the DH-17 kit to someone whoīs searching for such a kit? I like itīs look ..... a little bit like a beloved child from a E-11 and a SE-14.

    As it is no gun weīve seen in the movies, it would be a good opportunity for me to use the kit and some of the plastic parts i collected in the past. You will notice over time that i usually prefer metal and/or original parts for my blasters.

    Well, iīm open to any of your thoughts and suggestions.

  2. #2
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,520

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Very cool concept you have going there! I think it will turn out looking pretty cool

  3. #3
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Thanks.

    At least it looks promising - but off course iīm still able to mess it up.

  4. #4
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Not that much opinions, hmm?

    Still made no decision regarding the scope-question, but i started working on the basics that need to be done for every version.

    I wanted to have the grip as close to the real deal as possible, so i couldnīt just glue the parts together:











    To achieve this, i drilled a hole with various diameters into the grip itself, and aligned and epoxied a XXL long nut as integral part into the trigger mechanism. To line it up properly for a smooth function was ******, but it is done.








    Next step was to alter the trigger mechanism - it was just a flexible piece of plastic that pushed the trigger back after using it. Thatīs nothing what can be accepted by german engineering standards , so i modified it to be driven by a spring.




    I made a tigh fit delrin-endplate on my lathe, and secured it with 4 Allen-head-screws. Same look as on a original MGC.



    On the barrel side it has a step, to center the barrel:






    This construction was made to serve as a "anchor" for the epoxy when mounting the mag-holder. I donīt trust simple glueing, i prefer to have it more beefier. :






    Thats all up to now.

  5. #5
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Here we go again.

    You guys remember that strange creation i made as "anchor" for fastening the magholder?

    Here is the reason:



    I filled it with a very strong and sticky 2K-Epoxy, around 8mm high - that should hold.

    And i turned a plug from delrin, slighly bigger in diameter than the bolt - should give a smoother slide-action. It goes all the lengt through the bigger part of the bolt, that way it gives some beef for a stable pullrod, too:


    The front half is filled with hotglue. That should dampen the impact a little bit when working the slide.


    Open:



    And closed:





    Thanks for watching. If you have any ideas, thoughts, improvements, whatever ..... donīt hesitate to chime in.

  6. #6
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    As nobody has any ideas, thoughts, improvements, whatever ..... i assume everything is perfect?

    Or is it just boring?



    Well, some may remember i had used a delrin part with a piece of alu-tube for the barrel ....... after carefull deliberation i decided: I donīt like it, needs more weight, more metal.

    I made some new parts:




    Assembled them:




    And installed them on the receiver:




    Way better.





    Iīm getting closer and closer to the point where i have to decide the place for the grip.

    At the end, more "pistol" like:




    Or close to the mag, that leaves a long part behind the grip, something that is a integral part of a Sterling/E-11 for me




    Or in the middle, to combine the both:




    Atm, i tend more to "close to the mag".

  7. #7
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    The main part of the work is done.





    The M19 fits better than the M38, and itīs a nice hommage to its bigger brother



  8. #8
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Another piece which received today




    And here a part of it at itīs workplace:


  9. #9
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Me again ...... yeah, the nasty guy with his stupid guns. :


    Yesterday 2 layers of flat black as a base, and today this babys parts got 2 final layers of fast drying tough stove paint (it has a perfect shine, not to much but some). And after that i couldnīt resist, before going to the office i had to assemble the parts. :happy As you see there is no weathering yet, i want it to dry for some days before i hammer it - it will get no much weathering, the Empire doesnīt tolerate sloppy maintenance.

    The grip got a layer of "Future" for itīs shinyness.

    OK, OK, i will shut up and show some pics.






    With the M38 scope:




    With a M19 scope:




    And some closeups from different angles:












    Alltogether iīm glad that i did it this way, and havnīt used it for the kits intended use, building a ROTJ DH17 Rebel-Blaster.


    And itīs not as small as this pic may suggest.


  10. #10
    Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    North Texas
    Posts
    1,890

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Cool so far....I will continue to watch the thread.

  11. #11

    Member Since
    Dec 2010
    From
    Northern California
    Posts
    167

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    I like the M19 scope on it. It might look better actually if you took the magazine out.

  12. #12

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    This is awesome man!

  13. #13
    RedArc's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Judenburg, Austria
    Posts
    151

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Very professional , as all other builds you did in the past ;-) Gratuliere ^^

  14. #14
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Mullreel said: View Post
    Cool so far....I will continue to watch the thread.
    "So far"? Itīs nearly finished, now.

  15. #15
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Tsophika said: View Post
    I like the M19 scope on it. It might look better actually if you took the magazine out.
    The M19 is my favourite, too.

    But the mag is a integral part of this gun, basically the E-11A is a stubby version of the standard Stormtrooper blaster, made to enable it to be carried in a holster.

  16. #16
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    SUPERprops said: View Post
    This is awesome man!
    In a positive way, i hope.

  17. #17
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    RedArc said: View Post
    Very professional , as all other builds you did in the past ;-) Gratuliere ^^
    I try my level best, Dankeschön.

  18. #18

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    COOL!

    where can you buy the the long spiral spring?

    http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/c...ol/EE-4004.jpg

  19. #19
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Danke.

    Ebay. No special shop, i was just searching around until i found a suiting one.

  20. #20
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,173

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Have you thought about adding t track ?

  21. #21
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Fett 4 Real said: View Post
    Have you thought about adding t track ?
    To be honest ...... not yet.

    The part of the receiver with holes is so short, any suggestings how you think it might work?

  22. #22
    Megatron's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Cloud City
    Posts
    227

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    I like but would like it more if the mag was on the side like the rifle

  23. #23
    avianoguitarist's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2008
    From
    Outer Rim
    Posts
    11

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    That came out awesome! It's surely not a common blaster to build. I love it when folks decide to do the uncommon props.

  24. #24
    Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    From
    Germany
    Posts
    92

    Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested

    Thanks, such work is sometimes like a nice holiday, away from the screenaccurate builds i do.


    Btw - Megatron, the E-11 pistol has its mag downside to enable it to be holstered on the right side. Having the mag on the left would make it the same mess as the standard E-11, holstered only for lefthanders.

Similar Threads

  1. DE-10 Blaster Pistol
    By Josa Mereel in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Mar 30, 2013, 1:23 PM
  2. boba blaster pistol
    By tyrant b in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Oct 19, 2006, 3:15 PM
  3. Who made the Fett ESB pistol based on the Marmit figure?
    By Bradleyfett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Mar 3, 2005, 9:42 AM
  4. White Fett UZI-based Blaster
    By BigaboyFett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Oct 30, 2004, 5:28 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •