Subscribe
  1. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 3, 2011, 11:18 AM - E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #1

    Hi there,

    i had a stupid little idea, and itīs all TK1961s (user at RPF) fault.

    He showed his nice build of a E-11 pistol: My E-11A1 Blaster Pistol - and made me feel a need for having my own one.

    So i went in my shop and found some parts, basically a nice DH-17 kit that i purchased a short time ago from Odiwan. Really a excellent kit made by Bowjunkie, but a little bit to much plastic parts for my personal preferences. That kit and some other parts from the partbox brought me to this:

    The grip and trigger rearranged some cm to the back, and the mag on the front underside, still without any scope




    Or with a scope? I could offer a M38:




    Or a Singlepoint:




    Or a real one, donīt remember what:




    A pic from the business-end:




    And a closeup of the nozzle




    Still a lot of details to think about, build it? If yes, what version? Or resell the DH-17 kit to someone whoīs searching for such a kit? I like itīs look ..... a little bit like a beloved child from a E-11 and a SE-14.

    As it is no gun weīve seen in the movies, it would be a good opportunity for me to use the kit and some of the plastic parts i collected in the past. You will notice over time that i usually prefer metal and/or original parts for my blasters.

    Well, iīm open to any of your thoughts and suggestions.
  2. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    Mar 3, 2011, 11:25 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #2

    Very cool concept you have going there! I think it will turn out looking pretty cool
  3. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 5, 2011, 5:42 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #3

    Thanks.

    At least it looks promising - but off course iīm still able to mess it up.
  4. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 9, 2011, 11:00 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #4

    Not that much opinions, hmm?

    Still made no decision regarding the scope-question, but i started working on the basics that need to be done for every version.

    I wanted to have the grip as close to the real deal as possible, so i couldnīt just glue the parts together:











    To achieve this, i drilled a hole with various diameters into the grip itself, and aligned and epoxied a XXL long nut as integral part into the trigger mechanism. To line it up properly for a smooth function was ******, but it is done.








    Next step was to alter the trigger mechanism - it was just a flexible piece of plastic that pushed the trigger back after using it. Thatīs nothing what can be accepted by german engineering standards , so i modified it to be driven by a spring.




    I made a tigh fit delrin-endplate on my lathe, and secured it with 4 Allen-head-screws. Same look as on a original MGC.



    On the barrel side it has a step, to center the barrel:






    This construction was made to serve as a "anchor" for the epoxy when mounting the mag-holder. I donīt trust simple glueing, i prefer to have it more beefier. :






    Thats all up to now.
  5. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 10, 2011, 11:38 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #5

    Here we go again.

    You guys remember that strange creation i made as "anchor" for fastening the magholder?

    Here is the reason:



    I filled it with a very strong and sticky 2K-Epoxy, around 8mm high - that should hold.

    And i turned a plug from delrin, slighly bigger in diameter than the bolt - should give a smoother slide-action. It goes all the lengt through the bigger part of the bolt, that way it gives some beef for a stable pullrod, too:


    The front half is filled with hotglue. That should dampen the impact a little bit when working the slide.


    Open:



    And closed:





    Thanks for watching. If you have any ideas, thoughts, improvements, whatever ..... donīt hesitate to chime in.
  6. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 19, 2011, 5:43 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #6

    As nobody has any ideas, thoughts, improvements, whatever ..... i assume everything is perfect?

    Or is it just boring?



    Well, some may remember i had used a delrin part with a piece of alu-tube for the barrel ....... after carefull deliberation i decided: I donīt like it, needs more weight, more metal.

    I made some new parts:




    Assembled them:




    And installed them on the receiver:




    Way better.





    Iīm getting closer and closer to the point where i have to decide the place for the grip.

    At the end, more "pistol" like:




    Or close to the mag, that leaves a long part behind the grip, something that is a integral part of a Sterling/E-11 for me




    Or in the middle, to combine the both:




    Atm, i tend more to "close to the mag".
  7. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 19, 2011, 5:45 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #7

    The main part of the work is done.





    The M19 fits better than the M38, and itīs a nice hommage to its bigger brother


  8. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 19, 2011, 5:49 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #8

    Another piece which received today




    And here a part of it at itīs workplace:

  9. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 21, 2011, 12:27 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #9

    Me again ...... yeah, the nasty guy with his stupid guns. :


    Yesterday 2 layers of flat black as a base, and today this babys parts got 2 final layers of fast drying tough stove paint (it has a perfect shine, not to much but some). And after that i couldnīt resist, before going to the office i had to assemble the parts. :happy As you see there is no weathering yet, i want it to dry for some days before i hammer it - it will get no much weathering, the Empire doesnīt tolerate sloppy maintenance.

    The grip got a layer of "Future" for itīs shinyness.

    OK, OK, i will shut up and show some pics.






    With the M38 scope:




    With a M19 scope:




    And some closeups from different angles:












    Alltogether iīm glad that i did it this way, and havnīt used it for the kits intended use, building a ROTJ DH17 Rebel-Blaster.


    And itīs not as small as this pic may suggest.

  10. Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,963
    Mar 21, 2011, 2:50 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #10

    Cool so far....I will continue to watch the thread.
  11. Member Since
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    167
    Mar 21, 2011, 3:29 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #11

    I like the M19 scope on it. It might look better actually if you took the magazine out.
  12. SUPERprops's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    442
    Mar 21, 2011, 4:30 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #12

    This is awesome man!
  13. RedArc's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    151
    Mar 21, 2011, 5:21 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #13

    Very professional , as all other builds you did in the past ;-) Gratuliere ^^
  14. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 21, 2011, 8:06 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #14

    Quote Mullreel said: View Post
    Cool so far....I will continue to watch the thread.
    "So far"? Itīs nearly finished, now.
  15. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 21, 2011, 8:10 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #15

    Quote Tsophika said: View Post
    I like the M19 scope on it. It might look better actually if you took the magazine out.
    The M19 is my favourite, too.

    But the mag is a integral part of this gun, basically the E-11A is a stubby version of the standard Stormtrooper blaster, made to enable it to be carried in a holster.
  16. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 21, 2011, 8:12 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #16

    Quote SUPERprops said: View Post
    This is awesome man!
    In a positive way, i hope.
  17. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Mar 21, 2011, 8:14 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #17

    Quote RedArc said: View Post
    Very professional , as all other builds you did in the past ;-) Gratuliere ^^
    I try my level best, Dankeschön.
  18. bojaGun's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    198
    Oct 20, 2011, 12:13 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #18

    COOL!

    where can you buy the the long spiral spring?

    http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/c...ol/EE-4004.jpg
  19. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Oct 20, 2011, 11:28 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #19

    Danke.

    Ebay. No special shop, i was just searching around until i found a suiting one.
  20. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,617
    Oct 20, 2011, 12:00 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #20

    Have you thought about adding t track ?
  21. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Oct 20, 2011, 8:22 PM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #21

    Quote Fett 4 Real said: View Post
    Have you thought about adding t track ?
    To be honest ...... not yet.

    The part of the receiver with holes is so short, any suggestings how you think it might work?
  22. Megatron's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    269
    Dec 19, 2011, 5:28 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #22

    I like but would like it more if the mag was on the side like the rifle
  23. Feb 5, 2012, 2:53 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #23

    That came out awesome! It's surely not a common blaster to build. I love it when folks decide to do the uncommon props.
  24. Lichtbringer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    92
    Feb 6, 2012, 6:39 AM - Re: E-11 Blaster pistol, based on the MGC-Sterling - your opinion is requested #24

    Thanks, such work is sometimes like a nice holiday, away from the screenaccurate builds i do.


    Btw - Megatron, the E-11 pistol has its mag downside to enable it to be holstered on the right side. Having the mag on the left would make it the same mess as the standard E-11, holstered only for lefthanders.

Similar Threads

  1. DE-10 Blaster Pistol
    By Josa Mereel in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Mar 30, 2013, 2:23 PM
  2. boba blaster pistol
    By tyrant b in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Oct 19, 2006, 4:15 PM
  3. Who made the Fett ESB pistol based on the Marmit figure?
    By Bradleyfett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Mar 3, 2005, 10:42 AM
  4. White Fett UZI-based Blaster
    By BigaboyFett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Oct 30, 2004, 6:28 PM