-tubachris
  2. I helped at SDCC '08 The Clayster's Avatar
    Jun 9, 2007, 8:19 PM - Re: Darktrooper Progress Thread #277

Quote tubachris85x said: View Post
    First casting is tonight, I'll post pics of the results

-tubachris
    Sounds good.
    Jun 9, 2007, 8:47 PM - Re: Darktrooper Progress Thread #278

Awesome! I look forward to seeing the result!
    First casting is tonight, I'll post pics of the results

-tubachris
    Jun 9, 2007, 11:42 PM - Re: Darktrooper Progress Thread #279

Bah, so I tested it out tonight, and the machine and everything works great. The only problem is that its my first time doing this EVER. I tried the helmet mold first, but the plastic wasnt evenly heated enough, but got most of the shape. The bottom areas are not formed. Another thing for this mold, im gonna have to use ABS or thicker HIPS. The top of the formed piece was thin enough to squeeze and even crush. So i decided to hold off of the helmet mold until I can figure what to use for it. I put in another sheet, and this time, I learned how to heat the plastic better, by rotating it over a period of time, until the sides and such were soft. This time I wanted to try out the Guant top half and the two hand pieces. BUT due to my stupidity, I never put the larger mold over the vaccum hole, resulting in the center of the plastic to be sucked right into it.

My brother and his friends from college decided to watch me do all this, they thought it was pretty cool, despite the bad casts. lmao, they had a field day with the two bad casts. They thought the helmet cast looked likes Big Foot's head, and wore it. Pics to follow.

I know that people dont like to show their "faliures," but I have to so that everyone knows im workin to get better then before.

-tubachris
    Jun 10, 2007, 12:30 AM - Re: Darktrooper Progress Thread #280

Here they are. I apologize that I wasnt able to produce something quality enough the first time. I just need to keep practicing until I get it right.