Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. jodo's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,207
    Aug 3, 2008, 7:45 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #26

    Quote bh-7603 said: View Post
    ive got most of them, i thought they were all posted in the SDCC08 thread already
    Checked the thread again....and yeah, most, if not all of them are in there. Looks like a bunch of realy nice photos if you ask me.
  2. bh-7603's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    812
    Aug 3, 2008, 7:51 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #27

    actually since i figured it involved TDH'ers thats why its in here. and it looks like im right. Ive talked to several command level people and they didnt have issues with me.

    BTW, the photo is NOT for approved costumes only. its just a legion photo. must be a member of the legion to be in it.

    this does not need to go to the legion level as it has nothing to do with the membership as a whole. its mostly the BH'ers and the SCG since thats who is the majority of people there.

    ive also received word from the SCG command that they have absolutely no isseues with me being in any legion photo in my BH.

    im just trying to understand WHY people were complaining and not saying anythign to me about it. i'm thinking its cause i'm right.
    Last edited by webchief; Aug 4, 2008 at 6:31 PM. Reason: Watch the language... it's against the Code of Conduct.
  3. I helped at SDCC '08 Jango 5204's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,376
    Aug 3, 2008, 8:22 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #28

    O.K. you win..............
  4. I helped at SDCC '08 NovallTalon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,032
    Aug 3, 2008, 8:36 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #29

    Quote bh-7603 said: View Post
    this does not need to go to the legion level as it has nothing to do with the membership as a whole. its mostly the BH'ers and the SCG since thats who is the majority of people there.
    And how many people who regularly use this board on TDH are 501st members? I'm willing to bet less then enough to really give a flap about the issue to begin with. You just stated that it's mostly the BHer's and SCG garrison...so why not post this on their (SCG) boards where you can get the answers your looking for from 501st BH'ers and the SCG?

    Quote bh-7603 said: View Post
    im just trying to understand WHY people were bitching and not saying anythign to me about it. i'm thinking its cause i'm right.
    You know Jax...it's probably not the best idea to try to burn down all your bridges. One day your gonna get stuck on the side that nobody else is on, and that's gonna be pretty lonely. I'd just not worry about pressing this issue if I were you. If you've contected the proper people and they don't have a problem...then you ovbiously found the answer that validates your question.

    Now lets let this rest...
  5. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    Aug 3, 2008, 8:42 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #30

    First, watch your language.

    Two, this is a Legion problem, not just TDHers; you posted here instead of the 501st forums, you're only talking to the few who were there and dozens who weren't even the least bit involved.

    The simple fact is that you were requested to wear your TD by your commanding officer, and you chose to ignore it saying that no one will have a problem with it; although people did. You are a 501st member, so you have every right to be in that photo, but you should have attended in your 501st costume. If the 501st photo is just of 501st members and costumes don't matter, then perhaps 501st members in Rebel Legion costumes can attend; with your logic, I don't see why not.
    Last edited by GCNgamer128; Aug 3, 2008 at 8:49 PM.
  6. I helped at SDCC '08 Bountyone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,176
    Aug 3, 2008, 9:13 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #31

    Look, this is not a personal attack on you dude, we are not the one's complaining about you. YOU started this thread remember??? yes, a few of us were talking between ourselves about it but chose not to make a big deal out of it that day but somehow, you think that it's okay to show up at a 501st photo in that costume when you were told not to. this is the wrong place to post this thread and this needs to be buried.
    Last edited by webchief; Aug 4, 2008 at 6:35 PM. Reason: Watch the language... Be mindful of the Code of Conduct.
  7. Ghostsoldier's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    376
    Aug 3, 2008, 9:47 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #32

    Quote TehEl1te said: View Post
    Not to sure what your talkin about Ghostsoldier.
    El1te,
    It's a palpable undercurrent that presently exists....become a custom Mando, and you'll feel it sooner than you know....

    Either way tho, your custom mando looks sweet... haha. like the bucket :P
    Thanks for the gracious compliment, my good man!
    Rob
  8. TehEl1te's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,274
    Aug 3, 2008, 9:50 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #33

    haha, I didn't mean anything negative by it... just not being a custom mando I didn't know heh... and you are most welcome!!! *does the awesome slow nod that Fett does* You know what im talking about right? hahaha.

    El1te
  9. Ghostsoldier's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    376
    Aug 3, 2008, 10:02 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #34

    Quote TehEl1te said: View Post
    haha, I didn't mean anything negative by it... just not being a custom mando I didn't know heh... and you are most welcome!!! *does the awesome slow nod that Fett does* You know what im talking about right? hahaha.

    El1te
    Yeah, bro... I know! *winks*

    Never fear...my skin is as thick as my Sintra!
    Rob
  10. I helped at SDCC '08 Bountyone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,176
    Aug 3, 2008, 11:24 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #35

    Quote NovallTalon said: View Post
    And how many people who regularly use this board on TDH are 501st members? I'm willing to bet less then enough to really give a flap about the issue to begin with. You just stated that it's mostly the BHer's and SCG garrison...so why not post this on their (SCG) boards where you can get the answers your looking for from 501st BH'ers and the SCG?



    You know Jax...it's probably not the best idea to try to burn down all your bridges. One day your gonna get stuck on the side that nobody else is on, and that's gonna be pretty lonely. I'd just not worry about pressing this issue if I were you. If you've contected the proper people and they don't have a problem...then you ovbiously found the answer that validates your question.

    Now lets let this rest...
    Well said bro
  11. bh-7603's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    812
    Aug 3, 2008, 11:33 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #36

    ok, fine lock this after this post than. but this is not a military organization. there are no rules that really matter. i was curious of whom was complaining and now i have my answer.

    i didint post this on SCG's boards cause i asked directly. i didint post this on the legion forunms cause i dont want 4000+ people chiming in on something they were'nt a part of, is what normally happens over there anyway.

    I started this legion ride over here with my accepted custom mando back in 2003. So basicly thsoe of you who go to SDCC, and havnt been around for a while. its not run like Celebration or similar event. its all in good fun. there shoudlnbt be people complainign about costumes in pictures. not sure how a few custom people ruin a legion photo. the only person who can ruin a photo is yourself.

    i'm not burning bridges, but im sick of the holy than thou attatude of some of the "fett" costumers out there. granted thats not all of you, but some think since they built once of the 5 accepted BH's than no one else shoudl play. i've been dealing with this since i started this costume and it will never end. So the customs will eb around forever, deal with it.

    as for people "ordering" people to wear costumes. no one ordered me to wear anything. it was suggested. you cant order someone that you're not the boss of, supervisor of or similar position.

    we are all hear to have fun and play star wars. lets act like it.
  12. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    Aug 3, 2008, 11:57 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #37

    You can't blacklist Fett costumers, you posted on the Fett boards, are Stormtroopers and Imperial Officers going to register just to chime in? No.

    You say we are here to have fun, but you're the one looking for trouble. If you didn't make such a huge deal out of this, you wouldn't be so upset. This wasn't a huge deal and it's not like anyone cared about you being in the photo in your custom 20 minutes after the fact. Once you found out that there were people who disapproved, you went off on a limb and haven't let go since.

    If I were you I would take the advice that has been handed to you and take it into consideration, or else like Tom said, you'll end up on the empty lonely side of the bridge.
  13. bh-7603's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    812
    Aug 4, 2008, 12:08 AM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #38

    im not blacklisting anyone. i said a "FEW" and i was told to go find out who was upset. im not upset, im curious about WHY. as i said in my first post. it's curious to see that members who've been here a while havnt said anything. but either way...i'm still not upset, no matter how upset my posts sound.

    i'm curious. there should be NO problem. but people have one. obviously if people didint have a problem with it, i wouldnt have been contact more than a week later about the matter. THATS what i have a problem with. why wait? why not deal with it at the time? nothign wouldve changed, but still, why not bring it up there?
  14. Synn's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    87
    Aug 4, 2008, 2:23 AM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #39

    Quote bh-7603 said: View Post

    as it stands ive worn that particular mando the the 501st SDCC photo ever since that mando was approved and i had a BH number for that costume.
    Can I just ask, how did you manage to get a Custom Mando approved by the 501st when I thought they had strict regulations on how many media sources or films or whatever a character had to be in to be accepted or classed as canon?
  15. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    Aug 4, 2008, 2:38 AM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #40

    He became a member of the 501st with that costume prior to the purge.
  16. Alcfalath's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    548
    Aug 4, 2008, 2:38 AM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #41

    Ok lets sum this up shall we...

    Quote bh-7603 said: View Post
    ok, i've been told that there were people at the SDCC legion photo that had an issue with my custom mando beingn in the photo.
    Good start, states a straight forward and obvious claim. This is where you start to fall...

    who are you? lets discuss WHY?
    You basically just attempted to single out people to hold them to blame publically... no one likes that, and will get quite defensive.. This is where accusations will start to come out and people will start getting angry/narky...

    the SCG photo has always had customs in it as long as i can remember, and this year there were several other customs in it as well.
    You tried to start to justify the accusations right after singling people out, no one will actually read this for what it is now. However, showing a photo in here from a previous years group shot could have helped in your favour.

    so what is your issue? please let me know. The group of BH's that was taken should've been fine as hopefully we all were members of TDH. Don;t forget the two bobas that arrived right as we finished and didnt get ANY pictures of themselves, or the boba that refused to take their helmet off in the helmet off photo.

    email or pm me if you wish.

    jszarecki@gmail.com

    i personally would be complaining abotu the 4 mandos in the TDH picture as its listed here that are NOT members of the TDH.
    Finishing off with pretty much attacking those members ie what is your issue? translates as 'you have a problem and its yours and not mine' to quite a few people. Then trying to shift/share any backlash onto 4 other mandos as well, doesnt really bode well for a good response from anyone...

    Basically next time you write something like this, or even a response to this, write what you wanted to say, just like last time. Then walk away from the screen... go do something that you like for about 20-30 mins, get your mind off of it, then come back, re read what you wrote from an outsiders perspective, see how you could be inciting peoples negative reactions to what you have written, then adjust it accordingly to get your point across without singling people out...

    My comment on this issue is, if you have worn it in the past with no problems, then that is ok. But take into consideration that things change. 501st Costume Standards have raised, soon even FX kits may not be approvable. The point is that the group photo now may be how the legion wishes itself to be seen by the public, which is only approved costumes. If you were asked to wear your TD and not the Mando, then you should have discussed that with everyone before the shoot, and asked if everyone would have been ok with it.. Personally i wouldnt go against a CO however, but everyone has their reasons.

    In your defence, i have an RotS Anakin Skywalker, so i cop as much as Custom Mandos, who at least wear armour and dont wear bathrobes.. I recently got asked 'between the lines' to wear my RotJ Boba to the Clone Wars premiere, however I will be wearing my Approved Anakin, due to the theme of the event, and not what my squad leader dictates... I have a justifiable reason to do so in this case, and if you did too, then you needed to expalin that to the group, or at least have everyone in the know first...

    Thats it from me, take my post how you will, but when feeling very defensive in a thread going sour, just stop, walk away and come back with a clear head... it really does work most of the time...
  17. bh-7603's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    812
    Aug 4, 2008, 8:53 AM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #42

    well stated.

    next this ill take your suggestion in mind.

    here are some examples:





    granted i didnt like the yellow version of my costume that year, but it didint matter. the first picture i coulnt more than 10 customs. SL's, BH's TK's, etc
  18. Ghostsoldier's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    376
    Aug 4, 2008, 11:25 AM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #43

    Quote GCNgamer128 said: View Post
    He became a member of the 501st with that costume prior to the purge.
    "Purge"....dude...that sounds seriously Nazified...i.e., Rohm Blood Purge of 1934 ("Night of the Long Knives")....8)
    Rob
  19. bh-7603's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    812
    Aug 4, 2008, 2:44 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #44

    well thats what it was called.

    and NO i joined the legion with a standard TK back in 2002, by BH was accepted sometime in april or may of 2003 and had that designation until late 2004 I beleive.
  20. Wolfie's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    431
    Aug 4, 2008, 4:01 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #45

    Quote GCNgamer128 said: View Post
    He became a member of the 501st with that costume prior to the purge.
    which is odd, cause he recently asked for another 'purge' of bad costume quality on the main 501st boards pretty recently himself...

    and its only been recently that his sandtrooper even looked like a sandtrooper and not just a TK with a bit of dirt and a pauldron.


    I dont get this at all, because you're complaining about people not wanting you in a picture, then you bring the same stuff complaining people are in the TDH picture? when the only qualifications to be in the TDH is applying for forum membership?

    it makes more sense for anyone to be in the TDH photo then non-canon costumes being in the 501st picture. In Florida, at Mega con we take a bunch of pictures. Official ones that have to have proper costumes in them (so they can be used for publicity purposes) and non official ones, where other people can get in who are 501st members but arent wearing their normal costumes.

    IE I was there, I am a 501st member, but I was wearing battlestar galactica stuff, so I couldnt be in the picture. and its my fault for not wearing what I should wear to be in the picture. You wouldnt wear your star fleet uniform into a Star Wars club picture would you? but maybe after the "official" ones were done, since you are a member you could jump in for the unofficial ones that wont be posted for publiticy etc?
  21. bh-7603's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    812
    Aug 4, 2008, 6:32 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #46

    no. if youre not in the TDH, you shouldnt have been in the picture. and MY costume is not of bad quality, and had nothign to do with me stating that there shoudl be better check s and quality assurance on costumes is all.
  22. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,704
    Aug 4, 2008, 6:46 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #47

    Well said Crystal.

    OK guys... let's chill out here a bit shall we? First things first... let's remember to WATCH OUR LANGUAGE. The Code of Conduct is VERY CLEAR about this.

    Secondly, why Jax are you complaining about 501st rules on a non-501st forum? If you have a problem with a 501st event than take it up with the right people. Your complaints here are akin to buying a hammer at Sears and complaining to someone in Home Depot that you broke it the first time you used it.

    If it's a 501st group photo than it's quite simply SUPPOSED to be for members in Legion approved costumes. END OF STORY. It's not that difficult to understand... Like Crystal said....she's a 501st member but because she was wearing her BSG stuff she didn't participate. Same thing goes for any large con... if it hasn't always... it should have been. The group photo at DCon is the same way.... it's supposed to be for Legion approved costumes.

    Lastly, and here's the one that I can't believe STILL comes up...

    The 501st HAS NOT CHANGED IT'S COSTUME RULES IN REGARDS TO CUSTOM MANDOS. Yes, you read that correctly. They were NEVER supposed to be allowed in. NEVER. That simply put. If they were it is because someone wasn't doing their job. Plain and simple. The rule has ALWAYS been for costumes to be canon... I.E. screen and/or LFL media approved. If you were given a BH number (which no doubt you were because plenty were) then it was because your GML was either unclear of his or her duties or just didn't care. A few years back, Michael Washko was the Legion Membership Officer, noticed the influx of customs who didn't belong in the rosters and began to clear them out. I can't believe that after all these years this is still an issue of heartburn for some.

    The rules are clear, if you don't agree with them then there are plenty of other options available for you and everyone else. The 501st is not the only Star Wars influenced costuming organization out there.

    Hopefully this puts an end to this. If it doesn't, I'm locking the thread and issuing warnings.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by webchief; Aug 4, 2008 at 6:52 PM.
  23. tubachris85x's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Aug 4, 2008, 7:09 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #48

    As a completly NEUTRAL person, I recommend that this thread gets locked. Im not a fan of drama, especially when it's involving something that is just meant to be fun for everyone
  24. Ghostsoldier's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    376
    Aug 4, 2008, 7:50 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #49

    Quote tubachris85x said: View Post
    Im not a fan of drama, especially when it's involving something that is just meant to be fun for everyone
    Amen to that, brother!
    Rob
  25. tk9950's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    189
    Aug 4, 2008, 7:58 PM - Re: SDCC photo complaints #50

    Before this thread is locked.......



    I like PB&J........that is all...

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone looking for two roomates for SDCC?
    By Katua Fett in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jul 20, 2009, 11:22 PM
  2. Are you going to SDCC? Favor?
    By superjedi in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul 1, 2009, 3:35 PM
  3. SDCC '09 TDH table?
    By xfettx in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jun 20, 2009, 9:12 PM
  4. Triumph at SDCC '08'
    By FettOfficer in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Aug 7, 2008, 4:17 PM
  5. SDCC '08 TDH Group Photo?
    By Jimmy BufFETT in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Jul 16, 2008, 11:25 AM