Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

SDCC photo complaints

  1. #1

    SDCC photo complaints

    ok, i've been told that there were people at the SDCC legion photo that had an issue with my custom mando beingn in the photo.

    who are you? lets discuss WHY?

    the SCG photo has always had customs in it as long as i can remember, and this year there were several other customs in it as well.

    so what is your issue? please let me know. The group of BH's that was taken should've been fine as hopefully we all were members of TDH. Don;t forget the two bobas that arrived right as we finished and didnt get ANY pictures of themselves, or the boba that refused to take their helmet off in the helmet off photo.

    email or pm me if you wish.

    jszarecki@gmail.com

    i personally would be complaining abotu the 4 mandos in the TDH picture as its listed here that are NOT members of the TDH.
    Last edited by bh-7603; Aug 3, 2008 at 11:36 PM.

  2. #2
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jango 5204's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Central, Ca
    Posts
    1,376

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    I told my friend not to wear his white paldron and leave the MG34 in the room because it was a 501st shoot and his suit needed to be as seen in the movie. Now, this was my 1st year at Comic Con, and I'm not aware of your traditions, but when it says 501st shoot, I thought it meant 501st approved costumes. That's why I didn't wear Vader, I don't have my official SL designation yet.

    I personally don't care who's in the photo, but I interpreted it as a 501st shoot since the heading on the legion boards was "Official 501st Legion Photo". That's why I got confused when I saw a bunch of different suits. I realize those people are 501st members, I just expected to see movie suits for the official picture.

    I don't know that it was a complaint, rather just an observation and in the whole scheme of things really not that big of a deal as long as everyone is having fun.

    my.02

  3. #3
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,520

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    I would suggest posting in the SDCC section on the 501st boards. Posting in the custom mando section makes you cry out to people who were not even there.

    About you wearing your custom in the 501st group photo... well tons of members were offended, I heard countless times from many members that "this isn't a place for customs." The Legion is a group for movie quality costumes from the movies or the EU, your custom can never be an approved costume in the Legion.

  4. #4
    Michigan Jaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Detroit, MI - The Home of Rock and Roll
    Posts
    445

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Actually, 5204's right. If you're going to be in an official 501st picture, you should be wearing a 501st approved costume. Right now, custom Mando's are not accepted, so there shouldn't be any in the 501st pic.

    On the other hand, the same could be said of the TDH picture. Why would you want to be in a pic for a website that you aren't a member of anyway?

  5. #5
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,520

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Sorry for posting multiple times, a PSP can only post so many characters.



    You also defied your CO, you were told to wear your Sandtrooper, you chose to ignore him as you do quite frequently.

  6. #6
    I helped at SDCC '08 Bountyone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    From
    San Diego. CA/ Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Both Andy and Craig are right, we were ALL confused as to why you showed up to be in on the 501st Legion photo. custom Mando's are NOT 501st approved however, they can sit in on the SCG photo which you are not a member of and should not have been in that photo either. Like Jango 5204 said, we were all having fun. that's why we were confused as to you being there in the first place. the TDH photo on the other hand is always open to anyone.

    hope this clears up your confusion.

  7. #7
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,529

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    I said I would post over on this thread if you made one
    However, Everyone else already said the same stuff I would have

    501st pic requires 501st costume.
    Customs are not 501st
    Therefore , you should not be in the pic
    simple really

  8. #8
    I helped at SDCC '08 987654321a's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2007
    From
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    760

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Honestly guys, I dont see why this should be dragged on any further. I dont see what the big deal is.

    Yea, the costumes have to be 501st approved but then again, its just a photo. I will assure you that you guys will all get more photo ops than this. More 501st shoots. I dont see it as a big deal for him to have been there.


    But on the other hand I do see what you guys are saying how a 501st shoot should be limited to 501st approved costumes, not whos a member and who isnt.

  9. #9
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,520

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    987654321a said: View Post
    Honestly guys, I dont see why this should be dragged on any further. I dont see what the big deal is.

    Yea, the costumes have to be 501st approved but then again, its just a photo. I will assure you that you guys will all get more photo ops than this. More 501st shoots. I dont see it as a big deal for him to have been there.


    But on the other hand I do see what you guys are saying how a 501st shoot should be limited to 501st approved costumes, not whos a member and who isnt.
    He is a 501st member, so he has every right to be in the photo as anyone else who has a number. The problem was that he attended in a costume that isn't Legion approved.

  10. #10
    Female_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2008
    From
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    56

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    I was looking through this and I was just curious if the 501st have a rule for their group photos that requires costumes to be screen accurate?

    Not asking the question to be snide or anything, I'm just honestly curious because everytime I've ever seen a photo for the 501st the costumes were all screen accurate.

    The reason I'm asking is if they did have a rule forbidding non-screen accurate suits why was he allowed to take the photo with them in the first place? Someone shouldda said something if there was a rule about screen accurate costumes only I would think .

    But like I said, I wouldn't really know lol.

  11. #11
    Michigan Jaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Detroit, MI - The Home of Rock and Roll
    Posts
    445

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Female_Fett said:
    The reason I'm asking is if they did have a rule forbidding non-screen accurate suits why was he allowed to take the photo with them in the first place? Someone shouldda said something if there was a rule about screen accurate costumes only I would think
    Here's the answer to that question from what I can gather.

    GCNgamer128 said: View Post
    You also defied your CO, you were told to wear your Sandtrooper, you chose to ignore him as you do quite frequently.

  12. #12
    Female_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2008
    From
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    56

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Guess I don't understand why they didn't say anything again at the shoot . Specially if people were bothered by it.

  13. #13
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,529

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Nobody said anything because ;
    1. they don't wanna cause a problem
    2. Feel it's not their place
    3. don't know the difference (sad really, but true)
    4. It's just a photo, why get all in a bunch because someone doesn't follow the rules?

    That's a few reasons I came up with.
    BTW- I wasn't there, so I can't say positively why, just guessing.

  14. #14
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,529

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    987654321a said: View Post
    Honestly guys, I dont see why this should be dragged on any further. I dont see what the big deal is.
    The guy feels that he was in the right & wants to know why people think otherwise

  15. #15
    Ghostsoldier's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    From
    Sunny Sarlacc Pit, NE Florida
    Posts
    374

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    GCNgamer128 said: View Post
    ...I heard countless times from many members that "this isn't a place for customs."
    Seems to be a mind-set all over the place....
    Rob

  16. #16

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Not to sure what your talkin about Ghostsoldier. I can see why people would get upset about custom mando's in a 501st Legion photo... I mean you have a group of people that have to have screen accurate costumes that needs approved ahead of time. To have a custom costume thrown in there kind of takes away from what the Legion is trying to portray... I don't think its such a big deal that a custom mando was in the pic more or less that it was the fact that it was meant for only 501st members... and even tho he WAS a 501st member he showed up in the wrong costume.

    I'm sre there were a million other photo ops available, I dont tihnk he needed to jump into that photo... Would Mando mercs be a little confused if a black hole or a custom stormtrooper jumped into their photo?

    I dunno just my .02

    Either way tho, your custom mando looks sweet... haha. like the bucket :P

    El1te

  17. #17

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    im not in the SCG photo. illsay it again. IM NOT IN THE SCG PHOTO.

    also note there were several custom clones in there that are not approved customs. (from the new movie).

    as it stands ive worn that particular mando the the 501st SDCC photo ever since that mando was approved and i had a BH number for that costume. every year that custom has been in the photo, and sometimes even more customs (ive got the pics to back it up) were in the photo, not just mandos. if youd like for me to post them i can.

    i understand what my CO said, and see his POV, but I've always worn it and NEVER been told not to.

    but someone was right, if it was a big deal, someone should've said something, which frankly i woudl've had issues with, as i woudlve made sure the other 6 customs would have to be taken out as well.

    i wont post this on the legion forums cause its not the place for it.

    EDIT: i recounted there are 6 custom, non legion members and or non approved legion costumes in the photo. and i think its awesome. and im gonna go out on a limb here and say the XO of the SCG thought it was awesome as well, or she would've said get out, as she was the one placing people in the photo.

    this is kicking a dead horse and really isnt a big deal. I'm just curious as to others thoughts. mostly from people who have been in the scg legion photos before.
    Last edited by bh-7603; Aug 3, 2008 at 12:50 PM.

  18. #18
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jango 5204's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Central, Ca
    Posts
    1,376

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Sounds like a personal preference on the part of your leaders to give a BH designation, but I didn't see it on the 501st Website. I saw the TD, not the BH.

    "B. FORMAL/CANON - Costumes must be authentic, canon Imperial costumes from the movies or licensed media (games, books, etc.). Costumes must be devoid of stickers, ornamentation, or any other decoration not found on the original costumes. Costumes must be complete, containing all the parts in good working order and appearance. If a member has a question whether his or her costume meets the specifications of a formal costume, they may refer to information provided by the Costume Reference Library (CRL) on the main website or the LMO. Formal events include any event involving Lucasfilm and its affiliates or any other event where formal presentation is expressly asked for or required. An example of this would be escorting celebrities associated with Star Wars - this is considered an official event and calls for the group to represent the club in formal dress, unless the event organizer has specified that non-formal costumes are acceptable."

    Now this is a Convention, not a 501st event, so wear what you want. My only question was the photo. Advertised as 501st official photo. That, to me meant 501st suits.

    I don't see how starting an arguement at the photo shoot about who can be in the photo would've benefit anyone.

  19. #19
    Female_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2008
    From
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    56

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Jango 5204 said: View Post
    I don't see how starting an arguement at the photo shoot about who can be in the photo would've benefit anyone.
    Oh, I didn't mean it in that sense, I just thought they had a rule about screen-accurate only and if they did then they probably should have said something at the photoshoot. However, from the sound of things it doesn't appear as though that particular photo constituted those rules, particuarly if he's been in that suit before in that type of photo.

    So, what's done is done. Hopefully not too many toes were stepped on in the process and if they were then we can hope those toes learn to speak up before the camera flash (refering to the 501st in the photo that had an issue with it).

  20. #20
    I helped at SDCC '08 Bountyone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    From
    San Diego. CA/ Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Sounds to me like you guys (Mercs) need to have your own photo shoot. I agree with Jango 5204 100% and IMO, you should have not been in the photo period no matter who thought it was cool. there are hundreds of people turned down every week who's Fett isn't good enough for 501st approval and having you in those photos only raises more questions for them. I'm surprised any of them haven't come forward yet to complain about you being in those photos. we all work very hard on our costumes and the Legion has rules that need to be followed so for us to raise an eyebrow for your presence in the photo is understandable.

    and for the record, you ARE in the SCG photo, I heard Lesley say that the next picture was for the SCG only and your in it. I will try looking for it later when I have a bit more time.

  21. #21

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    I am NOT in the SCG photo. i was in two pics only. I am the white mando, not the jaster/jodo looking fett that is in the BH pic.

    here is the SCG pic:



    as you will notice, i'm not in it. But if i still lived in SoCal you woudl count on me being in the picture.

    legion and BH/TDH.

    as for the mercs, we had a picture with the wedding thing. some of them are in the TDH photo and are not TDH members. i think only 3 of the 8 people in the pic are TDH people.

    this isnt really a gripe thread, but ive asked around and several command level people have stated they didint care as they've had me in that photo before, and its for legion members reguardless of costume.

    and i woudl think my costume is "screen accurate" or better. (quality speaking)

  22. #22
    formerly old_jedi_mind_trick Bobby Fett UK's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2007
    From
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    1,453

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Interesting thread. I troop my Custom here in the UK (my Boba is not finished up yet). The quality of my custom is pretty high (inho) but I sometimes feel it is not fair to impose myself in photos as it is not canon. I troop with a great club, but we are not part of the 501. For the most part it gets a great reaction and goes down well, even if most people just mistake it for Boba, or sometimes Jango! However I am aware it is not canon, and however much fun it is this is something I am fully aware of.

  23. #23
    jodo's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    The Cold Widwest
    Posts
    2,207

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    there are hundreds of people turned down every week who's Fett isn't good enough for 501st approval
    Well thats an over statement.

    In my opinion, if we're going to have a 501st photo, only 501st costumes, allowed by the 501st should of been in that specific photo. BUT, there should be PLENTY of other photos taken to take our non-501st friends into consideration. If a costume bothers someone so much that it makes them angry at another person because its in a photo, then they themselves proboly shouldn't be in the photo.

    I can deffintly see why someone may get a very, very slightly, just a little bit upset, and perhaps kindly ask someone to step out of a photo but to ask them to make sure they got their photo taken, but to keep it "secretive" and to talk about it, while in turn not doing anything about it, I find that sorta odd and cross. Its a photo people. We don't exactly have a limit on how many we can take in this digtal age.

    EDIT - Does anyone have all the pics. taken? The TDH ones, the 501st,etc.? I'd like to see them all, custom mando's or not.

  24. #24

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    ive got most of them, i thought they were all posted in the SDCC08 thread already

  25. #25
    I helped at SDCC '08 NovallTalon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2007
    From
    Yadkinville NC
    Posts
    2,028

    Re: SDCC photo complaints

    Bountyone said: View Post
    Sounds to me like you guys (Mercs) need to have your own photo shoot. I agree with Jango 5204 100% and IMO, you should have not been in the photo period no matter who thought it was cool. there are hundreds of people turned down every week who's Fett isn't good enough for 501st approval and having you in those photos only raises more questions for them. I'm surprised any of them haven't come forward yet to complain about you being in those photos. we all work very hard on our costumes and the Legion has rules that need to be followed so for us to raise an eyebrow for your presence in the photo is understandable.

    and for the record, you ARE in the SCG photo, I heard Lesley say that the next picture was for the SCG only and your in it. I will try looking for it later when I have a bit more time.
    This thread really does not really concern Mercs. We did our own pic and invited anyone with a Mandalorian (Fett etc.) to take part because we do allow a very small amount of Fett costumers into Mercs. I'm not a 501st member and I don't really see why a custom would want/need to be in a 501st picture if it's for 501st approved costumes only. That would feel akward to me honestly, especially since I'm not a 501st member by any means.

    IMHO though, if people had a problem with him being in the photo...someone should have spoken up and let him know from the get-go. Now people are gonna look at the picture and be like "*** is a non-501st costume in there?". If people aren't willing to speak-up at the start, it doesn't really make sense for anyone to speak up now.

    Firstly though to the OP, TDH isn't the place to discuss this when it's clearly something that should be discussed on the Legion forums. Your probably not gonna find the best answers to your questions here, especially in the board for non-canon costumes.

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Anyone looking for two roomates for SDCC?
    By Katua Fett in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jul 20, 2009, 11:22 PM
  2. Are you going to SDCC? Favor?
    By superjedi in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul 1, 2009, 3:35 PM
  3. SDCC '09 TDH table?
    By xfettx in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jun 20, 2009, 9:12 PM
  4. FYI: Triumph at SDCC '08'
    By FettOfficer in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Aug 7, 2008, 4:17 PM
  5. Question: SDCC '08 TDH Group Photo?
    By Jimmy BufFETT in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Jul 16, 2008, 11:25 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •