Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. Mar 27, 2009, 10:55 AM - Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #1


    I've got the chest/boob armor from Rotton, now I need the rest of the pieces. My wife likes the more armored look of Jango vs. Boba, so she wants the thigh, shin, and maybe boot armor that he sports. I found the above for sale on the bay and it looks tempting. I'd never consider it for an accurate Jango, but it looks like it could work for a custom. I wouldn't need the chest pieces, but even $85 for the cod, thighs, knees (of questionable quality, those), shins, boots, shoulders, and back plate doesn't seem terribly bad.

    What does everyone think? Would this be a mistake to buy? I know there are better options (better materials, better accuracy) out there, but those that I have found have been too pricey. Thoughts? Alternatives?
    Last edited by asok; Mar 27, 2009 at 1:56 PM. Reason: Removed ebay link.
  2. CasiusOntius's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    176
    Mar 27, 2009, 1:05 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #2

    For a custom they probably wouldn't be too bad... but if you have time, you could give trash can armor a shot.

    It's not terribly difficult to make and if you print out the WOF templates, it can oftentimes turn out very nice!
  3. Saz.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    811
    Mar 27, 2009, 1:19 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #3

    Depends if you have the money to burn, those kneepads will have to be changed straight off.

    As my learned friend says above, buy a plastic bin and you can make them from the WOF templates.

    Depends on how much work you want to put into it yourself
  4. asok's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    2,707
    Mar 27, 2009, 1:57 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #4

    Per the CoC, do not post ebay links that are not yous. You may put a photo like I did of the auction.
  5. Mar 27, 2009, 2:26 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #5

    Asok, my apologies and thank you for correcting my post.
  6. TLobe00's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    826
    Mar 27, 2009, 2:43 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #6

    Yes, trashcan or just sintra would probably be a better option and save a little coinage... you can use the trashcan thread to see the cans to use, and I even contimplated using the same cans for the leg armor (before I came across some nice BKBT )
  7. Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    10
    Mar 27, 2009, 3:17 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #7

    Quote Saz. said: View Post
    Depends if you have the money to burn, those kneepads will have to be changed straight off.
    Even to my completely novice eye I can tell they're too "round", but what changes do you think need to be made to those kneepads? Do you think what's there is salvageable, or would you be better off just starting from scratch?
  8. Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    10
    Mar 27, 2009, 3:20 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #8

    What other changes, I meant to say .
  9. Saz.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    811
    Mar 27, 2009, 4:43 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #9

    Kneepads would be scrapped in my opinion.

    You also will need a bit of bending to do on the sides of the stomach plate. Take a look at Jango's armour and compare
  10. Nyx Mandalore's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    129
    Mar 27, 2009, 5:27 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #10

    It could be used as a base for a custom, but for the money and the "quality" involved, it might be more worthwhile (and cost-effective) to make your own from Sintra or the trash-can technique.

    Plus, you may find it more rewarding to say "Yeap. I made this myself." A lot of us do.

    In the end, do what works best for you and what you're most comfortable with. I agree that those knees would have to be scrapped, but the rest could be used as a starting point with some tweaking and re-shaping.

    Also note: Jango doesn't have the butt-plate. I don't know why that's there.
  11. I helped at SDCC '08 NovallTalon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,032
    Mar 27, 2009, 6:31 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #11

    Go with the trashcan method. For one thing, she needs to have thighs are look proportionate on her, and general sizing isn't going to cut it for that.

    Do you have a fax machine? I have some leg patterns that I use when I make female metal armor that you can translate to plastic, they are based off the Vhonte Thervo/Rav Bralor armor set...so they technically go with the armor you bought from rotton. You can cut them down in length to fit, but the width shouldn't need to be touched.

    I also have a nice female bikini style cod piece girls that fits and looks much better than the wide male ones.

    Let me know and I can fax them out to you early next week.
  12. Saz.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    811
    Mar 27, 2009, 7:05 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #12

    Listen to the man in the post above I say

    Women's hips are wider in proportion to the shoulders than men.
  13. wanta be jango's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    184
    Mar 27, 2009, 9:34 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #13

    hi

    garbage cans are the way to go and they great even try storeage containers.info on painting them or damage feel free to pm
  14. Formely Jaing Skirata A'den Skirata's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    516
    Mar 27, 2009, 10:21 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #14

    cyanides armor's not bad if you don't want to ake your own. but, you can cut your own sintra for less than 1/2 the cost and trashcan would be less than 1/2 that. also, cyanides is 3mm sintra which is nearly twice the thickness of rottons plates. a trashcan would give a more uniform look.
  15. CasiusOntius's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    176
    Mar 28, 2009, 12:28 AM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #15

    Quote Saz. said: View Post
    As my learned friend says above, buy a plastic bin and you can make them from the WOF templates.
    Thanks for the compliment, but I'm left wondering when I became learned
  16. Saz.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    811
    Mar 28, 2009, 11:07 AM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #16

    Last week, the internets told me
  17. Jon Michael's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    15
    Mar 30, 2009, 9:32 AM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #17

    I would say go with the trashcan, too. I was looking at those auctions. They're ok, but like was said, you can make your own and save money. Also, you're not going to totally know how it will fit until you get it. With the trashcan armour, you can print out the templates to the specific sizes you need.
  18. Mar 30, 2009, 10:32 AM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #18

    Thanks for all the feedback, everyone. That's about 10 votes for trashcan armor and 0 votes for this stuff... so it looks like it's time for me to do some more trashcan armor research.

    My only concern is timing. I have a goal of having her armor done in time for DCon (only 155 days left!) and saving the time of printing templates, cutting pieces, and heating/bending to fit might be worthwhile. I have 2 babies in the house, so costuming time is limited. Not to mention, there're about 5 other costumes I want to have done in the meantime! Still, saving $$ in these economic times does sound awfully nice.

    NovallTalon, PM coming your way with my fax info for those templates.
  19. Jon Michael's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    15
    Mar 30, 2009, 10:54 AM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #19

    That should be enough time for it all, even factoring in the kids and stuff. You can print out the templates and trace them onto trashcans in less than an hour. The cutting time depends on the tools you have. If you don't have a dremel, I'd suggest getting one. You can cut out the pieces with metal snips, but that takes more time...and it tends to kill your hands, lol. The dremel will cut the time down a lot. There's also a video on youtube, showing how to cut out the armour with a dremel. If you don't have a lot of experience with one.

    The great thing about the trashcans, is that they are generally the right curve as they are. I know mine is curved great for my body. And, the larger trashcan was on sale at my local Walmart for $7, I bought 2.

    Good luck!

    Edit: I just cut out my trashcan chest armour, with a dremel it took me about 25-35min. Still needs cleaning up, but that'll give you an idea.
    Last edited by Jon Michael; Mar 30, 2009 at 11:51 AM.
  20. I helped at SDCC '08 NovallTalon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,032
    Mar 30, 2009, 12:22 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #20

    PM replied to.

    If you schedule enough time to put the armor together, then you should have enough time. I built an entire metal suit for my GF in 22 days, including soft parts...and it came out great!



    However it drained pretty much every bit of energy I had for DCon last year, so I won't be doing that again...ever! =P

    The only thing I can't help much with is the chest armor. My patterns are speficially for metal, but only the collar, shoulders, stomach and below will xfer over to plastic. The chest and back pieces have to be tailor made then dished out according to cup size and back curve. You can find lots of pics here or in the female sections of the Mercs armor boards that will give you lots of ways to overcome this though.
  21. kal'ika's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2,018
    Apr 13, 2009, 3:22 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #21

    Quote skruffynerfherder said: View Post

    I've got the chest/boob armor from Rotton, now I need the rest of the pieces. My wife likes the more armored look of Jango vs. Boba, so she wants the thigh, shin, and maybe boot armor that he sports. I found the above for sale on the bay and it looks tempting. I'd never consider it for an accurate Jango, but it looks like it could work for a custom. I wouldn't need the chest pieces, but even $85 for the cod, thighs, knees (of questionable quality, those), shins, boots, shoulders, and back plate doesn't seem terribly bad.

    What does everyone think? Would this be a mistake to buy? I know there are better options (better materials, better accuracy) out there, but those that I have found have been too pricey. Thoughts? Alternatives?
    I like that stuff, who makes it and where can I find it?
  22. Apr 13, 2009, 3:30 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #22

    Quote kal'ika said: View Post
    I like that stuff, who makes it and where can I find it?
    If you search on the bay using the phrase "affordable jango armor" it should be the top result.
  23. Formely Jaing Skirata A'den Skirata's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    516
    Apr 13, 2009, 4:52 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #23

    I just want to reinerrerate since this topics been necrothreaded, this is NOT bad armor. It's actually quite nice, esepcially the cod being one piece and formed from 3MM sintra. For the price, it's a good set of premade armor. However, we have a guy at Mercs who makes metal sets premade for about the same cost.

    Also, you can make your own set of 3mm sintra for a fraction of buying one that someone has already cut for you. And, 3MM sintra is 100% superior to trashcan.
  24. Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    76
    Apr 14, 2009, 8:44 AM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #24

    I was looking at this armor, too. Was thinking of using it for my wife's custom. After DLing the templates found on this wonderful site, I think I'll give a shot at making the parts myself. I think I can get the sintra at a plastic manufacturer in KC, so I can even save on the shipping.

    Thanks for the info on this armor. I like hearing that it is decent quality in case I decide to go that route.
  25. Gypsyboy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    470
    Apr 28, 2009, 5:17 PM - Re: Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando? #25

    I also am considering using this very stuff for a custom. In fact, oddly enough, I encountered it, and this thread, today. I can see how it might be considered less accurate for a Boba, but for what I have in mind I think it'll work well... 'specially since I plan to build extra stuff on top of it.

Similar Threads

  1. Female Mando armor
    By psberetta in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: Jan 29, 2012, 12:55 PM
  2. Help with first mando armor.(that is, cheap armor)
    By dav321 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 14, 2010, 10:48 PM
  3. Who Makes Female Mando Armor
    By thundrkiss in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Nov 28, 2008, 9:48 PM
  4. Female mando! Boob armor help?
    By violentyoda in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Jul 24, 2007, 8:09 AM
  5. the start of my jango armor
    By td 2266 in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Jan 2, 2007, 6:43 PM