Subscribe
  1. Member Since
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    23
    Jan 9, 2014, 5:17 PM - My Mando. Opinions wanted! #1

    Alrighty, let's see what y'all have to say...







    I've been working on this for about 3-ish years. All plates are hand cut from 22 gauge steel, but I purchased the knees and gauntlets.
    My next set of upgrades will include a new vest, a jetpack (looking for a Rubies Supreme to modify, actually), wrap-around shin plates, a set of Boba ROTJ gauntlets, some new pouches, a set of Fettronics chest lights, and MAYBE some plates for the Kama.







    Let me know what y'all think! I'm always open to suggests for a better kit.
  2. dolioshmolio's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    406
    Jan 9, 2014, 9:46 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #2

    i think you have an excellent Mando there.. the colors all work well together ... and i love the Bucket .. the second pic from the bottom is just mean!
  3. syllander's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    858
    Jan 9, 2014, 10:21 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #3

    Looks good! What does the armor weigh?
    Only part of the armor I'm not crazy about is the shoulder bells. Just my opinion though....
    But that rifle is ******!
  4. Member Since
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    23
    Jan 9, 2014, 10:46 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #4

    Quote dolioshmolio said: View Post
    i think you have an excellent Mando there.. the colors all work well together ... and i love the Bucket .. the second pic from the bottom is just mean!
    Thanks!
    I'm wicked excited that I managed to get one like this. I became pretty much obsessed with them when I first saw one, and I just KNEW I had to get my hands on one. An original went up for sale around September last year (feels weird saying that. :P ), so I jumped at it.

    Quote syllander said: View Post
    Looks good! What does the armor weigh?
    Only part of the armor I'm not crazy about is the shoulder bells. Just my opinion though....
    But that rifle is ******!
    Ah, around 45 pounds last I weighed it.
    For the sake of asking, then, how would you do them differently? Keep in mind that I want to try and be bulkier than your standard Boba/Jango repaint.
    And believe it or not, the gun only cost me $20!!
    Thanks for the feedback.
  5. syllander's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    858
    Jan 10, 2014, 8:57 AM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #5

    Personal opinion would be something formed similar to a snowtroopers bells. But it's only my opinion and we all got em! Nice work though brother.
  6. PunisherFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    85
    Jan 10, 2014, 9:38 AM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #6

    I really like the colors as well!! Looks good mate!
  7. Jan 10, 2014, 10:21 AM - #7

    Looks all good to me. The colours and general shape/layout looks like it belongs in the StarWars universe.

    Have you thought about adding a jetpack? Sure you could come up with you own spin on it.

    And keep those Instagram posts comming ?
    Quote Quote Posted from Android app
  8. Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    161
    Jan 10, 2014, 4:30 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #8

    looks good but i'd still switch the thigh plates that's me though
  9. Bothan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    206
    Jan 11, 2014, 1:43 AM - My Mando. Opinions wanted! #9

    Great work! I really like the helmet and the color scheme. You have clearly put a great deal of effort and creativity into this costume and the result is great.
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app
  10. Syper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    897
    Jan 11, 2014, 4:11 AM - My Mando. Opinions wanted! #10

    Looks hella cool man, I would add more details too the gauntlets but you did some great work there! Take care
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app
  11. Shaugi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11
    Jan 11, 2014, 6:25 AM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #11

    Not bad at all...I'm liking the colour scheme....only thing that niggles for me is the thigh plates....maybe reposition them a little higher and wider
  12. Member Since
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    23
    Feb 10, 2014, 9:29 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #12

    Thanks for all the great feedback, folks! It's really appreciated.

    Syllander, I'll definitely look into making some snowie shoulders! I've also been looking at TK shoulders, as I've managed to make an alright template for them.

    Thanks, PF! In the next few months I'm gonna work on transitioning out the black parts... Already changed out the cod piece, just need to get some pics of it.

    FMF, thanks! I actually have been looking at getting a jetpack... Just need to get one that's pre-made/not gonna kill my wallet. >.< The Rubies Supreme is mighty tempting. I just can't find one for sale by itself.
    The Instagram posts shall never stop!! Mwahahahahaha.

    Xanthis, I'm not sure how well that would work. I've gone through multiple redesigns of the thigh plates to get them to work with the Boba cod perfectly. :/ I'll give it a shot next time I kit up, though.

    Thanks, Bothan!

    Syper, that's one of my next upgrades actually. I'm not one for making really small, detailed things, but I realllllllllly want some ROTJ Boba gaunts. Probably won't happen for a while, but it'll definitely be happening.

    Shaugi, I'll try that out next time I kit up.
  13. Member Since
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    23
    Apr 1, 2014, 10:25 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #13

    Been a while since the last update, sorry...

    Changed up the design on my chest plates and added some more gold to the shoulder bells. Also painted the pouches, repainted the cod plate, painted another pauldron plate gold added in a new one, added a bit of "tech" to my gauntlet (not visible in the pic, sorry), and added my range finder.

  14. Member Since
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    6
    Apr 3, 2014, 11:00 AM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #14

    Awesome kit!
    It's always great to see the evolution of a kit.
  15. Felixdario's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    31
    Apr 8, 2014, 6:14 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #15

    Really cool
  16. SNOWAURE's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    399
    Apr 8, 2014, 7:13 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #16

    Great Mandalorian costume bro!!!
  17. NoGoodToM3D3ad's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    311
    Apr 8, 2014, 9:09 PM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #17

    No Opinion besides THIS IS AWESOME)
  18. NegativeEleven's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    175
    May 20, 2014, 4:57 AM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #18

    I'm kinda late to this conversation, but I'm hoping you haven't wasted money on a Rubies jetpack. I considered that route for my ROTJ Boba (which still doesn't have a jetpack after wearing the rest of the suit for over 3 years through various upgrades). I opened the box at a local costume shop and took a good look at the Rubies Boba. The vac-formed pieces are so thin and seem really fragile. I assume in modding, you'll add weight and stronger parts to it (greeblies, metal plates) that will just make it that much easier to crack it accidentally when transporting it from troop to troop. The only part of my Boba that is from the Rubies supreme is the jumpsuit, but even that I had to modify a lot.
  19. Sep 19, 2014, 5:03 AM - #19

    Oh, man. This ia one of the coolest custom Mandos I've seen yet.
    Quote Quote Posted from Android app
  20. MLS's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    77
    Oct 18, 2014, 2:01 AM - Re: My Mando. Opinions wanted! #20

    Love it! If you ever want to sell that bucket...

Similar Threads

  1. Custom Mandalorian Opinions wanted on my bucket weathering...(photobucket link)
    By Shaugi in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Jul 5, 2014, 12:12 AM
  2. MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted
    By Jluck in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Nov 22, 2007, 2:50 PM
  3. Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay
    By maj. hassel in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Aug 31, 2007, 12:08 AM
  4. wanted to show off and get opinions on my idea
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 12, 2007, 10:11 AM
  5. Fiberglass Armor (Opinions wanted)
    By C*E*N*O*B*Y*T*E in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2004, 4:19 PM