looking for a new voice amp

  1. #1
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    looking for a new voice amp

    I originally picked up a voice up from a link at TK-409 I like it but that thing is GINORMOUS. So I am trying to find something a little smaller I heard radio shack used to have a nice small one that is pretty loud but I dont think they carry it any more. Does any body know where I may find a used one??

  2. #2
    Toragh's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    From
    somewhere on an unknown battlefield...
    Posts
    360

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    Did you try Radio Shack's website? If they don't have it, eBay probably would. If not then making one from a hardware store shouldn't be to difficult. Just need to find a parts list and diagram.

  3. #3
    Feldon_Nassus's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2007
    From
    Illinois
    Posts
    22

    Re: looking for a new voice amp


  4. #4
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    Feldon_Nassus said: View Post
    awww no way LOL I looked for almost an hour last night and I could not find it any where LOL. So I wonder if I take the item number into my local store if they can order it or is it internet exclusive only???

  5. #5

    Member Since
    Jan 2007
    From
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    162

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    Just order it and have it shipped to your nearest store if they don't have it in stock.

  6. #6
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    The Asylum said: View Post
    Just order it and have it shipped to your nearest store if they don't have it in stock.
    I actually looked and according to the web site my local store should have it in stock. So I will find out today. I just hope its loud enough.

  7. #7
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,520

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    I may stop by Radio Shack on my way home to pick one up I'm in need of a voice amp.

  8. #8
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    for less than 15 bucks you cant beat that

  9. #9
    I helped at SDCC '08 The Clayster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2006
    From
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    1,586

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    I use of the radioshack mini amps, I just called a local store, and they have one.

    I used to live in Poway, so I know the Radioshack in Carmel Mountain has them Morpheus, I dont know where you live in SD though.

  10. #10
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    Cylrul Pbz said: View Post
    I use of the radioshack mini amps, I just called a local store, and they have one.

    I used to live in Poway, so I know the Radioshack in Carmel Mountain has them Morpheus, I dont know where you live in SD though.
    I live in Mira Mesa I called my local Radio Shack they have two left and they are going to hold one for me.

  11. #11
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    aaaaaa NUTS i picked it up and my mic does not work with it I turn it on and I can hear static. Now I am hoping that its just a really really old 9 Volt
    Last edited by morpheus1977; Mar 20, 2007 at 8:00 PM.

  12. #12
    BLUERAM's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    Pekin, IL
    Posts
    144

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    You need to have a powered mic for this to work. You can make any mike powered by adding a 'AA' or 2 in line with one of the mic leads. Or you can buy one at Radio shack.

  13. #13
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    BLUERAM said: View Post
    You need to have a powered mic for this to work. You can make any mike powered by adding a 'AA' or 2 in line with one of the mic leads. Or you can buy one at Radio shack.
    but my mic works with my other amp I have??
    *EDIT*
    well replacing the battery you are totally correct BLUERAM I must need a powered mic but instead of chopping up my current mic would this work
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search
    it says it comes with a button cell battery does this mean its a powered mic???
    Last edited by morpheus1977; Mar 20, 2007 at 9:37 PM.

  14. #14
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    any one??

  15. #15
    I helped at SDCC '08 The Clayster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2006
    From
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    1,586

    Re: looking for a new voice amp

    I cut my socom headset (cut the wires from it, and only used the headset part) taped a lapel mic to it, and voila.

    works fine

Similar Threads

  1. VOICE AMP PLACEMENT
    By Bountyone in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Nov 22, 2007, 11:41 PM
  2. voice amp help
    By Bountyone in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Oct 21, 2007, 6:39 AM
  3. Need some RS voice amp help PLEASE
    By bobafett669 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Feb 23, 2005, 12:58 PM
  4. New Possible Voice Amp for use
    By bobafett669 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Feb 21, 2005, 9:46 PM
  5. Voice Amp?
    By bobafett669 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: Feb 3, 2005, 10:28 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •