Subscribe
  1. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:08 PM - Signature question #1

    I'm walking as Boba for the March of Dimes (premature babies)
    and I want to add a banner, but it won't show up
    This is the text;
    *edit- changed the text*
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	march.jpg 
Views:	144 
Size:	9.6 KB 
ID:	23932  
    Last edited by slave1pilot; Apr 13, 2008 at 12:25 PM.
  2. fettpride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,657
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:14 PM - Re: Signature question #2

    What it looks like to me, is that the first line is a link to a website page ..

    http://www.marchforbabies.org/person...AVE1PILOT&bt=8


    And the second link, looks like the banner?

    If that is the case, then I assume you're trying to get the banner on the second line, to link to the desired webpage ?

    Correct?

    FP
  3. fettpride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,657
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:18 PM - Re: Signature question #3

    Try this bro .. just copy this into your html page


    href="http://www.marchforbabies.org/personal_page.asp?w=191017310&amp;u=SLAVE1PILOT&am p;bt=8"><img
    style="border: 0px solid ; width: 550px; height: 160px;"
    src="http://www.marchforbabies.org/includes/gethorizontalsignature.asp?id=191017310&f=1&s=cont act_photo&u=S"
    alt=""></a>





    FP
    Last edited by fettpride; Apr 13, 2008 at 12:24 PM.
  4. Rich D.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    729
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:19 PM - Re: Signature question #4

    testing:




    replace the curly brackets with square brackets:
    Code:
    {URL="http://www.marchforbabies.org/personal_page.asp?w=191017310&u=SLAVE1PILOT&bt=8"}{IMG}http://www.marchforbabies.org/fgethsig/191017310S.jpg{/IMG}{/URL}
  5. fettpride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,657
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:24 PM - Re: Signature question #5

    ooops, I thought he was trying to post it on a website, sorry :o

    So yeah, what CD said





    FP
  6. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:24 PM - Re: Signature question #6

    I had the wrong text in the first pot
    it said "supporting" & it should have been "participating"
    here is the correct one;
  7. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:29 PM - Re: Signature question #7

    still won't work
    also, I need it with the new text (as mentioned above)
  8. Rich D.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    729
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:31 PM - Re: Signature question #8

    That sig would be a different url, right?



    again, replacing curly brackets with square brackets (bbcode vs. html tags)
    Code:
    {URL="http://www.marchforbabies.org/personal_page.asp?w=191017310&u=SLAVE1PILOT&bt=4"}{IMG}http://www.marchforbabies.org/includes/gethorizontalsignature.asp?id=191017310&f=2&s=contact_photo&u=S{/IMG}{/URL}
  9. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:34 PM - Re: Signature question #9

    Quote Count Dookie said: View Post
    That sig would be a different url, right?



    again, replacing curly brackets with square brackets (bbcode vs. html tags)
    Code:
    {URL="http://www.marchforbabies.org/personal_page.asp?w=191017310&u=SLAVE1PILOT&bt=4"}{IMG}http://www.marchforbabies.org/includes/gethorizontalsignature.asp?id=191017310&f=2&s=contact_photo&u=S{/IMG}{/URL}
    again, it won't work
    I replaced the brackets & it won't show
    am I just stupid?
  10. Rich D.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    729
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:40 PM - Re: Signature question #10

    Ah, right. I always have signatures turned off, so I never really thought about permissions. On this board, at least for regular users, you can't use html tags, you can't use vbcode [img] tags, but you can upload images. So basically, no, that sig isn't going to work on TDH unless you get special permissions from an admin.
  11. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:45 PM - Re: Signature question #11

    Quote Count Dookie said: View Post
    Ah, right. I always have signatures turned off, so I never really thought about permissions. On this board, at least for regular users, you can't use html tags, you can't use vbcode [img] tags, but you can upload images. So basically, no, that sig isn't going to work on TDH unless you get special permissions from an admin.
    Off to the admins I go
    thank you for your help, and (more importantly) your patience
  12. fettpride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,657
    Apr 13, 2008, 12:46 PM - Re: Signature question #12

    Quote Count Dookie said: View Post
    Ah, right. I always have signatures turned off, so I never really thought about permissions. On this board, at least for regular users, you can't use html tags, you can't use vbcode [img] tags, but you can upload images. So basically, no, that sig isn't going to work on TDH unless you get special permissions from an admin.
    Wow? Good to know. I never use that feature for banners either, I had no clue

    Slave1pilot - you could always paste it in every post from now on, until after the event anyway. It's a "workaround", but at least it will show in your posts. Just keep the link text handy in a notepad or sticky on your desktop (like CD gave it to you), copy and paste it at the end of your posts. Just a thought

    FP

Similar Threads

  1. get the signature pic to work
    By aero in forum Site Support & News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Sep 12, 2009, 12:12 PM
  2. Signature in PMs
    By CSMacLaren in forum Site Support & News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 26, 2008, 1:39 PM