Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

  1. #1
    batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    1,900

    Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    I'm working on a project to transfer the 'innards' of one of the Radio Shack voice amps to a small project box, and had a question about changing the battery type.

    I've heard some people have substituted a 9V battery in place of the six AAs. I understand the voltage is the same (1.5v times 6 = 9v), but does the battery life change at all? Usually I can get through quite a few hours of trooping on the six AAs. Will it be the same with the 9V?

    Mods, since we don't have an Electronics forum, feel free to move this to wherever it's supposed to be.






  2. #2
    asok's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    From
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    That is what I have in my TK armor and I have trooped for about 6 hours with no problems. I checked the 9V when I got home and it was at over half a charge.

  3. #3
    batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    1,900

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    Cool, Asok, thanks for responding. I'm going to try this tomorrow!


  4. #4
    asok's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    From
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    No problem. That is how all the guys in my garrison have their helmets setup. 1 9v can also run 1 of my 60mm helmet fans just at long.

  5. #5

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    Does anyone have any photos or know of a guide to convert the RS amp to fit into a small box? I have one but have not attampted to dismantle it yet.

  6. #6
    batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    1,900

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    The box I bought is actually a little bigger than the original RS casing. It's 6x2x4". I did this in order for the box to 'fit' better in my biker scout pouch, which is 6x2"xsomething or other.

    Anyway, it fits snug in the pouch.

    I haven't finished the project, as I still need to drill/cut holes for the LED, input jack and volume wheel. I'm still scratching my head on how I'm going to mount the parts.

  7. #7
    asok's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    From
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    I will try and take pics of mine tonight and post them. I put the amp in a AA box from Radio Shack.

  8. #8
    Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    From
    St. Catharines, ON
    Posts
    1,957

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    I asked this same thing a couple months ago, and I found out that you'll be pulling more power from the 9V, only getting maybe 1/3 of the time you get with 6AAs. Also, the volume is reduced a fair bit. I decided to just stick the 6 AAs in one side pouch, and put the speaker and control board in the other pouch.

  9. #9
    Admin Staff Trooper TK409's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    From
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,068

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    Great idea. We haven't had an electronics or voice section set aside on TDH, although it's an important part of the costume. Those who have photos of your altered Radio Shack voice amp, please post em!
    Here's secolfett's
    http://www.geocities.com/s_collao
    (love that "Similar threads" section at the bottom of our page!)

  10. #10

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    Is there a tutorial anywhere? He just has some photos. I go the back off mine but not sure what each colered wire does and I am afreaid to cut them not knowing what to connect them back to.
    any help anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

  11. #11
    shortimer52's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Corpus Christi, TEXAS
    Posts
    2,287

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    Trooper TK409 said:
    Great idea. We haven't had an electronics or voice section set aside on TDH, although it's an important part of the costume. Those who have photos of your altered Radio Shack voice amp, please post em!
    Here's secolfett's
    http://www.geocities.com/s_collao
    (love that "Similar threads" section at the bottom of our page!)


    Similar threads, never saw that before untill now.. Man what will you guys come up with next?

  12. #12
    Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    From
    St. Catharines, ON
    Posts
    1,957

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    http://www.gothos.com/tk5248/mod2.html

    bobafett669 said:
    Is there a tutorial anywhere? He just has some photos. I go the back off mine but not sure what each colered wire does and I am afreaid to cut them not knowing what to connect them back to.
    any help anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

  13. #13

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    Bingo! Thank you!!!!!

  14. #14

    Re: Radio Shack Voice Amp Transfer

    anyone have details on how to re-connect the power wires for a 9V to this once it is taken apart?

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone have a US Sirius Satellite Radio subscription
    By Omega_Man in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Aug 23, 2009, 1:15 PM
  2. I know that most of you use amps in the bucket, but have you ever used a real radio?
    By Zurath Kodul in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: Jun 27, 2006, 5:18 PM
  3. Cheap Radio Shack Voice amp.
    By cal196 in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Sep 21, 2005, 7:41 PM
  4. Look What I Found At Radio Shack!!!!!!!!!!11
    By Eht_Eno in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jul 21, 2004, 9:16 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •