Subscribe
  1. Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11
    Nov 15, 2010, 4:14 PM - Airbrush opinions #1

    Hello,

    I am considering buying my first airbrush set and I would really like to hear some opinions. I am looking for something somewhere between the middle and the top end. It will only get occasional use but I still want something good quality in case that changes later. I have read the forums and I am considering these two sets, does anyone have experience with them or can you point me in another direction.

    Paasche Millennium w/quiet air compressor

    Paashe VLS w/quiet air compressor

    I wasn't sure if it was ok to post links to the website, hopefully the description gives enough information.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11
    Nov 15, 2010, 4:17 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #2

    sorry, a little more information. the compressor is a TC-20.

    Thanks
  3. cjack350's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    118
    Nov 15, 2010, 4:32 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #3

    I am a complete airbrush novice. After researching I went with the Paasche VL dual action and compressor. It's easy to set up and use and comes with everything that you need to get started.

    New! Paasche VL Versitile Starter Set

    That's the exact thing that I bought. So far I'm pretty happy with it.
  4. NikNak_aka's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    545
    Nov 15, 2010, 4:53 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #4

    I've had my Paasache VL for about 8 years and I love it. Easy to tare down and clean very robust parts.

    Honestly I wouldn't buy one of their compressors though They are over priced and the cheaper ones (d500) are none adjustable.

    Something like this: Husky Trim Plus 3-Gallon Electric Air Compressor - H1503TP at The Home Depot

    Might work better for you. Much more versatility (ie you can use it for more than just running an airbrush). Adjustable and it has a tank so the compressor doesn't need to be running 100% of the time.
  5. Evilhemmes's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    211
    Nov 15, 2010, 7:32 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #5

    good post, been researching and wanting to ask this myself, gravity feed or siphon? which is better i was looking at this
    Buy Iwata Ninja Jet Kit from Airbrush Warehouse
    dont think we can buy the paasache here in oz and didnt really want to pay freight ontop shipping from US, any recommendations would be great
  6. Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11
    Nov 15, 2010, 7:54 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #6

    Quote NikNak_aka said: View Post
    Might work better for you. Much more versatility (ie you can use it for more than just running an airbrush). Adjustable and it has a tank so the compressor doesn't need to be running 100% of the time.

    I have a 30 gallon air compressor in my garage I just didn't think it would have the versatility to use with the airnbush. Do you know what psi I will need to operate ate so I can check it out?
    Last edited by FettDiego; Nov 15, 2010 at 8:12 PM.
  7. Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11
    Nov 15, 2010, 8:10 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #7

    Quote Evilhemmes said: View Post
    good post, been researching and wanting to ask this myself, gravity feed or siphon? which is better
    Thanks for adding this in, I have the same question mostly because (sorry that it is unrelated) my wife also wants to use the airbrush for cake decorating. Most of the cake decorating sets have gravity feed guns and the ones I was looking at for this are siphon. I was kind of assuming I would just have to buy both but wold love to save some money if possible.

    Here are the links to the ones I was looking at. (I am hoping it is ok since there are several in the replies to this thread.

    PAASCHE MILLENNIUM AIRBRUSH SET w/Quiet AIR COMPRESSOR | TCP Global

    PAASCHE VLS AIRBRUSH SET w/Quiet AIR BRUSH COMPRESSOR | TCP Global

    It is the same compressor with different airbrushes. It sounds like I may not need the compressor but I would still like to hear what people think.

    Thanks for the feedback so far, this is really helpful.
  8. Member Since
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    41
    Nov 15, 2010, 8:47 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #8

    I have a PAASCHE dual action and I am pretty much a beginner. It was real easy to catch on and easy to take apart and put back together.

    I am along with the other guys. Don't waste your time getting one of those little compressors. Spend a little extra and get a full size compressor. Make sure if has adjustable air pressure settings. Buying the bigger one will allow you to use it for more stuff. (Pumping up car tires, using a nailer/stappler).
  9. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Nov 16, 2010, 6:01 PM - Re: Airbrush opinions #9

    Re versatility for a compressor... as long as you have a pressure regulator and a moisture trap, what more do you need? Those little whisper quiet ones are fine if you are working in a studio where noise is a hugh concern, but otherwise that 30 gallon one is way better.

    I use a 10 gallon campbell hausfeld with mine.

    I've never used the Millenium, but I've had VLs since the mid 90s with no complaints. IMO it says something that after almost 20 years they haven't significantly changed that particular model, yet they are still a top seller
  10. Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11
    Nov 19, 2010, 11:05 AM - Re: Airbrush opinions #10

    Thanks everyone for the feedback, I'm still 100% sure which way I'm going to go but this was all helpful.

Similar Threads

  1. Airbrush advice
    By Cailieg in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Apr 12, 2008, 8:00 PM
  2. Airbrush problem...help please
    By Wildabeast in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Jun 8, 2007, 3:47 PM
  3. airbrush cleaning help...
    By SaxeCoburg in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Sep 28, 2006, 9:37 AM
  4. More airbrush help
    By Wes in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 3, 2006, 11:29 PM
  5. Airbrush help
    By gunsofbrixton197 in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Feb 28, 2006, 8:55 AM