Subscribe
  1. Formerly Dubkid Corrose's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    157
    Apr 19, 2009, 12:08 AM - Airbrush Compressor Information #1

    Question..
    Been getting ready to start repainting some of my rotj pieces after several years. Im using an old airbrush compressor thats probably about 10 years old. The problem Im having is no matter which tip I use on the brush, I cannot get a solid/larger flow of paint. This is after cleaning the brush and checking each piece thoroughly. This is also after thinning the paint at various levels (acrylics).

    I can only guess my compressor isn't pushing out enough air to do the job. It's 1/10th HP. Is that enough? I wanted to check before I go buy something better. The pain't Im using is the Polly Scale Acrylics.

    Thanks!
  2. gbeef's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    343
    Apr 19, 2009, 12:40 PM - Re: Airbrush Compressor Information #2

    you dont need a lot of air? do you have a regulator on the compressor? what is it set to?
  3. Formerly Dubkid Corrose's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    157
    Apr 19, 2009, 3:31 PM - Re: Airbrush Compressor Information #3

    Mine doesn't display that information. Theres simply a pin that goes into the part where the hose connects onto the compressor. You can unscrew the pin and it "leaks" out some air...allowing less air to flow through.

    Again, we're talking about an old compressor but its never fun to drop a hundred or more on another.
  4. wanta be jango's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    184
    Apr 19, 2009, 8:26 PM - Re: Airbrush Compressor Information #4

    hi

    sounds like regulator problems. maybe unhook the gun and see how much air flow you have
  5. Member Since
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11
    Apr 23, 2009, 4:31 PM - Re: Airbrush Compressor Information #5

    One of my hobbies is scale modeling and I've had some experience with air brushes and air compressors. What kind of compressor are you using? It sounds like yours is similar to a basic Paasch air compressor I have. It does the same thing, that is, you just unscrew a little pin and it leaks air and that's supposed to be your regulator. Unfortunately, those things aren't very reliable at giving you a consistent flow of paint. Just to paint armor with a consistent flow, I'd say you need anywhere from 15-30 PSI. You might consider either buying a regulator to add to the compressor. That way you know exactly how much PSI your compressor is pumping. Adding a regulator is probably the cheapest route. I myself got sick of using that compressor and bought a nice Iwata Smart Jet Pro. Those have regulators, gauges, moisture traps and they are really quiet to boot. The Iwata's are pretty expensive though.
  6. gbeef's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    343
    Apr 24, 2009, 12:10 PM - Re: Airbrush Compressor Information #6

    yeah its a reg issue for sure. I'm using a giant shop compressor!. but you need a regulate the air PSI to about 25-50 and thing higher and you airbrush wont work.

Similar Threads

  1. Decent airbrush compressor?
    By Bubba Fett in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: Nov 15, 2008, 7:12 AM
  2. New Airbrush/ compressor issues
    By Tim Allen in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jan 7, 2007, 7:48 PM
  3. Is this a decent starter airbrush compressor?
    By digital509 in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: Jan 5, 2006, 9:01 PM
  4. Airbrush Compressor Questions.
    By E2K13 in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Aug 27, 2004, 4:55 AM